Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel. Don't stay on second floor.

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: Everything but noise.
Cons: Insulation between rooms.
The only contemporary hotel we found in charleston is roomy, chocked full of amenities, and feels like home. Only problem is that if you stay anywhere other than the top floor it'll sound like elephants are parading above you. The staff was helpful and kindly moved us to the third floor after our first sleepless night. After that, it was one of the best experiences we've ever had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Great location

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: Loved it
Cons: The cleanliness of the furniture
Location: great location, close to shops and restaurant's
The Restoration was great!!!! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Great location to shop and restaurant's. Loved the luxury one room suite. My only complaint about the room was the furniture. There was a lot of stains on the sofa and chair. If the hotel wants to be rated a five star hotel then they should really invest in some new furniture.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Awesome

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Great hotel, in a central location. Close to everything but still quiet and relaxing! Private dinner with chef Chad was incredible!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great Location

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: I liked the location and the size and amenities of the room
Cons: I did not like the smell in the hotel. It smelled like Febreeze or some other spray. Would also make the staff at the front desk more presentable.
Location: Centrally located near tons of shopping and walking distance to all major sites in Charleston.
I did enjoy my stay at The Restoration on King. The rooms are more like loft apartments then hotel rooms. Absolutely huge! They come equipped with a full kitchen, washer and dryer and everything you can possibly think of! They even deliver breakfast to your door every morning in a picnic basket. The food itself isn't great but the idea is adorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ralph from Kentucky

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel. Very hard mattresses were the only draw back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
Great staff and hotel. Awesome airy former apartments converted into hotel. Only beef is construction to expand till December
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Our stay was a wonderful experience!

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Pros: We liked the style and the location as well as the service.
Cons: I'm sure it will be even better when the construction is complete.
Location: It is near shopping, restaurants and places of historical interest.
The location is excellent and it is so charming. The suites are huge and really cool! The staff was so very friendly and helpful. They went way beyond the expected service. we would go back in a heart beat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Viki from Beijing, China

Nice boutique hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

let down by staff

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
Location perfect. Room great - huge, comfortable, everything you could want was thought of. Loved the basket breakfast. Was a little disappointed with "front desk" staff - elevator out of order during our stay, some offer for adjustment would have been appropriate. Noise from room above was bothersome but staff did not seem to care.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Frances from Smyrna

Our Stay at the ROK

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
This was a great place to stay. It was an excellent location that allowed us to walk everywhere. At check in, Dwayne took care of our car and luggage. He even showed us other vacant rooms so we could see that each one was different. We arrived in time for happy hour, which had a cheese plate and several different wines and beer. The ROK used to be condos, and now it is a hotel. This means you have a full kitchen and living area. They are also building a new section, so it will be completely different a few months from now. It was clean, but it just needs a deep cleaning. In a humid climate, mold is always a problem that needs attention. There was mold growing on some of the ceramic tiles in the shower as well as around the shower door. Like I said, it just needs a deep cleaning and attention to details. Would I stay here again? YES!!