Ratings based on 1,059 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Donald

Unique upscale hotel in center of it all

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
One of my favorite hotel experiences ever as an experienced traveler. Perfect location in Charleston to top restaurants, historic homes, waterfront, and art galleries - all one to three walking blocks away. Hotel was unique with resident artist that had an original painting for sale every three feet in the hallways, lobby, and in the rooms. Rooftop bar offered great views and added bonus was wine reception at 4pm as well as cookies and milk at end of night. Would definitely stay again if returning to town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brief but pleasant overnight stay

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Orbitz
Lovely hotel in a fantastic location for exploring historic charleston. We didn't stay long enough to take full advantage of amenities, but they were excellent. The staff was exceptionally polite and welcoming. The room was small but cozy and comfortable. Very clean. The only complaint I have was the bathroom had an old water/musty smell, especially if you left the door closed for hours while out. However, this seemed to be present thought out the whole historic district so it is likely due to the very old pipes and not necessarily the hotels fault.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Overall experience was very good. Ours was an interior room. Hardwood floors in hallway made for a noisy evening. Would recommend the Vemdue Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Best location, but rooms are disappointments.

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Location, Location, Location.
Location: Charleston City Market, King St. Battery, Waterfront Park.
This hotel is located on E Bay street, right in front of a beautiful waterfront park. Everything was in walking distance. We really enjoyed the waterfront park (Nice view of the bridge). However, the room that we stayed did not have any windows and it was below average for 4 star hotel. They could've done better job on rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
Our room 249 Smelled a little Musty When We arrived. One of the pillows had a hair On it which was a turn Off. Made me think the linens were Not changed Interesting for being A prime outside room we noticed there were many paint drips Likening was painted in a hurry. Over all The place was great. Loved the infused water daily and the complementary coffee and cookies. Was close to everything. Staff was friiendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lynchburg, VA

Nice location, easy parking, easy to navigate from

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Service ~ Great bed!
Cons: The floor we were on was very old although renovated. The slant and uneven floors made me a little dizzy at times....no, not drinking :)
Location: Do take the walking tours, at least one, of the city and the battery. It is fascinating and well worth it.
The entire staff went out of their way to make us happy in every respect. Robbie, the Concierge, even called us unsolicitedly after we booked to see if he could help set up our plans and reservations.....never had anyone do that before! Hotel was charming enough, but it is the people that would make me go back again :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the Best!!!

Posted Jan 9, 2017
We stayed here for a one night getaway. Everything was better than expected. I've stayed in just about every hotel in downtown Charleston and The Vendue in now top of the list.
5 out of 5
by Carol Ann

Great location for walking everywhere.

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic location. Value for the money just OK. Staff exceptional.
4 out of 5
by Brain

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels