Ratings based on 738 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Beds are sumptious! Staff is overly chatty--and they push their restaurant like it's the only one in town. The well curated art adds pizzaz.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Fantastic Charleston Hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2015
I can't say enough great things about the hotel and staff. It's in a great location. Rooms are very nicely appointed. Wonderful staff - very professional and courteous and exceptionally helpful and welcoming. We were given complimentary $25 vouchers for the bar and an invitation to an art show with wine and canapés from 4 to 5 pm. They serve milk and cookies from 9pm and have complimentary water infused with fresh fruit available all day. Breakfast is terrific. We will definitely return.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charlotte NC

Fantastic location -

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: Loved the art work, decor in public rooms and great restaurant.
Cons: Cleaner carpets - they did provide slippers....... Cleaning staff not in public areas mingling with guests......
Location: Wonderful location - perfect! Close to Waterfront Park , restaurants, shopping etc
This hotel is in a great location. Hotel decorated beautifully and creatively with wonderful art work. The drawing room is an excellent restaurant .........good and dedicated staff - wonderful chef. We were upgraded thank you - carpet in our room could have done with a thorough clean................. would suggest finding a way of cleaning staff not mingling with guests - staff with bags of laundry and cleaning supplies in reception area.................... Would definitely stay there again - would have given it 5 star review if not for carpet and cleaning staff in public areas. Otherwise delightful stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great Location but....

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: Excellent Location, close to dining & attractions. Great Hotel Staff!
Cons: Need new beds, more bedroom furniture and the rooms could use a little sprucing up.
Location: Location is the best feature, you can walk to area attractions and places to eat. 1/2 a block from the harbor so we always had a nice breeze blowing!
Location is excellent. Staff is friendly and ready to help. Roof top bar is the best part of the hotel, but you do not need to be staying at the hotel to enjoy it. The rooms are small with almost no furniture for clothes etc. Views from rooms are terrible, we were overlooking a power station! They advertised queen & king beds, we booked last minute so I could not get a king but the room we ended up in had a double bed. I am not a small guy at 6'2" and 250lbs so this was definitely a problem especially for my wife! They did offer to move us after the first night to a room with a king bed but the room had no windows! That's a problem! On a positive note they offer free Starbucks coffee to guests and the location is one of the best in Charleston.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Good location, hotel needs updating.

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: Lobby area.
Cons: Noise/sound proofing, freshen up and modernize the elevator, hallways, rooms, furniture, bathrooms.
Location: Location was very central and you can easily walk to everything in downtown Charleston.
Loved the lobby and downstairs area, but this is the only boutique thing about this hotel. Definitely not worth the price they charge to stay here. Rooms are super small, furniture is over-sized and chintzy, rooms and hallways smelled musty and were in desperate need of an update. Mattress and pillows were very old and squishy, with a rickety old bed. Hallway and elevator carpets were smelly and old. You can hear everything at all hours, as there's no sound barriers/protection - elevators beeping, people walking past, coughing, talking, slamming doors, constant noise from the next room and the rooftop bar above. Website photos were extremely misleading and were not accurate, don't expect a fresh boutique hotel. Location was great and staff were friendly, but upstairs, the hotel needs an overhaul.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockville, MD

Great Location and Service; Love the "Art" Theme

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: Location was great; very convenient to free shuttle and water taxi and many restaurants and historic sites. Great roof-top bar!
Cons: Given the humid climate, it would be nice to have more towel racks, plastic hangers or hooks to hang damp clothes to dry out after a day of touring.
Location: Water Taxi, Free Charleston Shuttle; Charleston Market; Waterfront Park; Dungeon; Delicious Gelato across the street! Many great restaurants.
The Vendue works at exceeding expectations and it did just that. Everyone was quite pleasant and helpful, even when we checked in at 5:30 AM. We think the evening meal at the restaurant was our best of the entire trip! Go on Tuesday when the resident artist is painting in the dining room. Be sure to chat with Emily, the art docent about the art in the hotel; she's very knowledgeable. No fault of the hotel, but our worst part of the experience was Charleston Street dept was digging up the pavement right outside our window at nighttime the last two nights. Our snowman, RBDN, loved spending the day looking out the window. (See Picture)
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from princeton nj

Very charming hotel with lots of great art

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Everything was wonderful. The staff especially the bell hops were so helpful and nice. Great place downtown Charleston
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rochester, ny

Posted Aug 20, 2015
A very comfortable hotel that provides excellent service. The staff is so friendly and helpful. The artwork is great and the library is a great place to relax
5 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Great location in the heart of Charleston

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Parking is terrible Parking to check in is difficult.
Location: Waterfront park is steps away and many restaurants are very close.
Spent two days at the Vendue and enjoyed every minute of our visit.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Perfectly located art boutique hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2015
From check in until check out The Vendue delivered incredible service! Friendly and attentive staff were always available and more than happy to give suggestions. They seemed genuinely happy that we were having a great experience in Charleston. We stayed in a gorgeous king room. It was perfect in every way! This hotel is a must!