Ratings based on 909 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fort lauderdale

Great expectations

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: Location, the service, the room, the cleanliness , everything.
Location: perfectly located, within walking distance to everything.
exceeded our expectations on all fronts. The room was spacious, super clean and luxe. The staff ever present and helpful. The original artwork made me feel at home, the location was perfect. We love charleston and will definitely stay here again, hopefully in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

My Favorite Hotel in Charleston

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Boutique styled hotel featuring artist, gourmet food , roof top bar and in an excellent location. World class! My home away from home in Charleston!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia SC

Beautiful hotel, fabulous location

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: the art gallery feel
Cons: needs a little more soundproofing
Location: everything is in walking distance for discovering Charleston.
The staff at this hotel is outstanding. You even get a hotel tour upon check in. Being an art geek, all the different types of art was right up my alley. The beds were comfortable and the double sinks in our bathroom was very nice touch. My only complaint was the noise from the hallways and the noise from the upper floor at all hours ( we were on the third floor) was disturbing. HOWEVER, it is an old building so the problem is probably not fixable. Other than that--awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel well located

Posted Jan 28, 2016
In one of the best areas to stay to enjoy some of the great restaurants of Charleston, a short stroll to the waterfront and the market. If the weather is ok the shops on King Street are within walking distance. If you want a room with a fireplace, gas, you have to ask and pay an up charge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Great experience! Enjoyed the hotel and staff as there was also much stuff to do in walking distance
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ian from Hastings

Historic hotel in downton Charleston

Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Hotels
A boutique hotel in downtown Charleston, but the room was showing its age. Bed was large however pillows were unsatisfactory, even when harder pillows requested they were still soft (but not as soft as the originals). No tea/coffee facilities. Staff very friendly and welcoming.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

excellent location.

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: Location and very excellent staff. Arranged excellent last minute transportation for group.
Cons: place to sit in room (not on bed) also vanity/shelf in bathroom. location for friends to meet, visit. no lobby or sitting area.
Stayed in the "old" hotel 26 across street. Room had no place to sit except on bed. Had to take ironing board out of armoire to put 7 hangers of clothes and then it was full. Bathroom had no place to place personal items, I.e toothbrushes, saving, or make-up,. Bed was very comfortable and room was clean. Just not the standard thought. great location!!!. just off Cooper River and the Waterfront park. Breakfast in the "Drawing Room" was slow. 45 minutes for scramble eggs and bacon. Personnel could not have been more pleasant or helpful with special request. THEY get 5 stars. Hotel 3
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great for business or pleasure

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel for a couples getaway or business. It was a bit far from my business meetings but they had bikes to rent throughout the day. The service was impeccable and the property was charming -- a nice break from the big corporate hotels. The rooms were all roomy and one of a kind. Some of them might be tough to get into if you're handicapped though. I'm sure they provide for folks with accessibility needs as many of the rooms require lots of winding hallways and stairs to get to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Honeymoon

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Entire staff from the minute we stepped out of our car went above and beyond what we expected. Everyone one was so kind and even called us by name as we left and entered daily. We felt like they honestly loved what they did and cared about us, the guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Staff was extremely helpful. Room was clean, comfortable and cozy. Location was very convenient. We had a fantastic time!