Ratings based on 1,043 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Our first time to Charleston. Lovely city with great historical interests. We had a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and great location

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Little weird no window, but perfect location, beautiful hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful service.

Posted Feb 7, 2017
We've never experienced a hotel staff that provided better service. In addition, location, amenities, value excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room Without A WINDOW

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: This room should be described as a room with NO window.I did not know it was possible to offer a room with no window. Does the fire dept. know about
Location: I had to walk across the good location
My room was in a building at 26 Vendue. I had to check in at 19 Vendue and walk across to another building. The room did not have a window and was claustrophobic. If there was a fire it would be difficult to exit. It was the worst room i have stayed in EVER. A room next to mine was being renovated and cleaned at night with loud noises and scraping of furniture being moved. What a dreadful room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Overall experience was very good. Ours was an interior room. Hardwood floors in hallway made for a noisy evening. Would recommend the Vemdue Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Best location, but rooms are disappointments.

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Location, Location, Location.
Location: Charleston City Market, King St. Battery, Waterfront Park.
This hotel is located on E Bay street, right in front of a beautiful waterfront park. Everything was in walking distance. We really enjoyed the waterfront park (Nice view of the bridge). However, the room that we stayed did not have any windows and it was below average for 4 star hotel. They could've done better job on rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lynchburg, VA

Nice location, easy parking, easy to navigate from

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Service ~ Great bed!
Cons: The floor we were on was very old although renovated. The slant and uneven floors made me a little dizzy at times....no, not drinking :)
Location: Do take the walking tours, at least one, of the city and the battery. It is fascinating and well worth it.
The entire staff went out of their way to make us happy in every respect. Robbie, the Concierge, even called us unsolicitedly after we booked to see if he could help set up our plans and reservations.....never had anyone do that before! Hotel was charming enough, but it is the people that would make me go back again :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the Best!!!

Posted Jan 9, 2017
We stayed here for a one night getaway. Everything was better than expected. I've stayed in just about every hotel in downtown Charleston and The Vendue in now top of the list.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Cons: Their hot water heater
Location: Very central location. Walking distance to many restaurants.a nice park and historical houses
Great location,great and friendly staff. However we had serious hot water issues. Finally after several days it was fixed. We were surprised we were not offered at the least a complementary drink for our inconvenience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC

Charming hotel near Waterfront Park

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Charming hotel. Great staff - friendly and always on top of service. Drawing Room, Press Cafe, and Rooftop Bar covered all in-house dining options.
Cons: Only issue we had was with comforter on bed which kept us too warm. Perhaps provide a light-weight blanket option in chest drawer or closet.
Location: Great location in historic district 1 block from Waterfront Park and Cooper River. Grand historic homes and fine dining within a short walk.
Hotel was charming with great service. Totally enjoyed our 4 night stay over Thanksgiving. Our interior Room at 26Vendue had an exposed brick wall and was very spacious. The Drawing Room, Press Cafe, and cool Rooftop Bar (actually on 2 levels) covered all in-house dining options beautifully. Reccommend using the valet service (additional) as it was so convenient and parking in area can be difficult. We were able to see so much just walking in Historic District - lovely grand homes, historical buildings, parks and restaurants, and also enjoyed day trips to plantations and beaches. Highly recommend this hotel!