Ratings based on 1,120 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington D C

Posted Oct 19, 2016
My daughter and I both throughly enjoyed our stay and the beach experience in front of the hotel was wonderful .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Piney Flats TN

Beachfront and near everything

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Good hotel. Came in right after Hurricane Matthew. Fouled up first two days of stay but really enjoyed the facility once we were able to get on island. Good staff and nice facility.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great trip

Posted Oct 8, 2016
The Tides is a fantastic hotel, I'd stay there again in a heartbeat. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars across the board is because the mattress wasn't the most comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Love having the ocean and the pool

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Very friendly staff.
Cons: Vacuum the rooms better
Location: Love, love. love Folly Beach. Lost Dog restaurant. The shops seem to have a lot of the same clothes.
We had to leave two nights early due to Hurricane Matthew. Very sad. We were asked by law enforcement to evacuate.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland,Or

Everything is Awesome!

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: The view, the beach, the lightening storm (!), the tiki bar, and the service at the front desk.
Cons: We sat outside for breakfast in the morning and it seemed a bit disorganized at first. Once we got a server to our table, she was great.
Location: The location is so lovely. Lots of great restaurants and bars nearby. We drove to Bowen's Island for the best "keepin' it real" restaurant/food!
It all exceeded expectations! The service at the front desk, the bellman, the view, our room, the beach... I especially want to thank Jerry the bellman, all of the young ladies at the front desk. They were very, very helpful and kind. Southern hospitality at it's best!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

This was our second time staying at the Tides.

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: The location is perfect and the staff were always helpful and tried to best accommodate any requests that we had. Great ocean views.
Cons: The area around the pool did not have any umbrellas. beach chairs with umbrellas were $30 per day. Dinner menu pricey.
Location: The Main Street has everything that is needed and all is within walking distance. Downtown Charleston is a very short drive from Folly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tn

Very nice on beach

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Nice motel on beach, next to pier, and within short walk to shops and restaurants. Pool and bar at beach.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We did enjoy our stay here.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Clean.
Cons: Breakfast should be included.
Location: On the beach. Cant be better located than that!
It was a pretty hotel. Everything was comfortable. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Really wish breakfast had been included for the amount we paid for this room in off season.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GA


Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: quiet rooms, beach so close.
Cons: room updating,(frig. needs to be a little newer) deep clean carpets, some fold up chairs a small table for small patio, just to really soak in breeze
Location: love walking to the downtown area and all the restaurants. renting a bike or golf cart to tour folly beach. Walking the flat beach and shell hunting.
Tides Hotel still nice but could use a little loving Folly Beach has gotten busier, so the only hotel has gotten busier and a little worn down, but still quiet and clean. Staff is polite and smiling. Our bed was very comfortable.Be careful walking on the tiles in the hallways very slippery when wet some areas puddle pretty deep.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Folly Beach Tides

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness and friendliness
Excellent hotel and staff. Highly recommended! Great location and very clean.