Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Unique

Posted Jan 11, 2017
This old, former home of a Charleston grandee is a rare--if not exactly unique--hotel. The house is grand, fine, lovely, opulent. The woodwork, the ironwork, the floors, thee bedrooms are all splendid. The ambience is refined, courtly, perhaps, old-fashioned. Now if you want a sleek room with a gym downstairs and a pool, this is not your place. But if you want to live like an old-time aristocrat for a night or two, this is the place for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Penfield, NY

Great location in a residential area.

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Everything. It was like visiting friends rather than staying in a commercial property. The gas fireplaces in every guest room are a real plus.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: It's Charleston. Everything is nearby.
Off street parking in a beautifully landscaped courtyard. The restaurant in the former stables is lovely and has excellent food. The mansion is beautifully appointed and well maintained. The staff are all top notch. This property is a real gem in an historic city full of beautiful homes and non-stop charm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Great experience, wonderful historic building, staff was helpful and especially the restaurant was fabulous
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Excellent

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Just great , only place I'll stay from here on . Staff is top notch, eager to take care of you and make your stay remarkable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oklahoma city

Pampered

Posted Jul 22, 2016
This place was amazing. We were pampered for our entire visit, my favorite place to stay ever!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach

Even more than expected!

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: Many things, but the staff really stood out as the best part. Very friendly, helpful, and attentive.
Cons: Really nothing.
Location: Located right next to the College of Charleston, it is in a perfect spot to walk around town.
I had high hopes for this hotel based upon both Expedia and Trip Advisor reviews. It exceeded expectations . I will return every time I'm in Charleston. Elegant and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Charming, old and tastefully appointed small hotel. Outstanding food at associated restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from 29928

Special occasion wonder

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Just about everything, specially one of the best restaurants in the world, Circa 1886.
Cons: The price, a little les expensive.
Location: Everything Charleston has to offer. History, shopping sightseeing.
My wife and I celebrated our anniversary in this magnificent mansion. A bit weathered by time, it has a very focused staff, from the reception to the extras, like: wine and d'oeuvres at 5pm, after dinner drinks and a superbly elegant breakfast, all complimentary. It is a wonderful experience with an elegant sense of history.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful/special hotel!

Posted Jan 28, 2015
It was very nice staying in such a beautiful mansion in our recent visit to Charleston! Not a lot of opportunities to stay in a historic mansion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing hotel where nothing is too much trouble

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Went worth was fantastic and the staff were ready to please.Everything was included and we were surprised by there thoughtfulness