Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Unique

Posted Jan 11, 2017
This old, former home of a Charleston grandee is a rare--if not exactly unique--hotel. The house is grand, fine, lovely, opulent. The woodwork, the ironwork, the floors, thee bedrooms are all splendid. The ambience is refined, courtly, perhaps, old-fashioned. Now if you want a sleek room with a gym downstairs and a pool, this is not your place. But if you want to live like an old-time aristocrat for a night or two, this is the place for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Penfield, NY

Great location in a residential area.

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Everything. It was like visiting friends rather than staying in a commercial property. The gas fireplaces in every guest room are a real plus.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: It's Charleston. Everything is nearby.
Off street parking in a beautifully landscaped courtyard. The restaurant in the former stables is lovely and has excellent food. The mansion is beautifully appointed and well maintained. The staff are all top notch. This property is a real gem in an historic city full of beautiful homes and non-stop charm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Great experience, wonderful historic building, staff was helpful and especially the restaurant was fabulous
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Excellent

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Just great , only place I'll stay from here on . Staff is top notch, eager to take care of you and make your stay remarkable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic South high style

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Last minute decision to dash thru Charleston after a week on Hilton Head. Only room available was high end...best decision to splurge ever. Gorgeous old South charm. I felt like Scarlett O'Hara. Fabulous gigantic marble bath area with jacuzzi tub and large separate shower. Highest ceilings & lavish woodwork. Forget Scarlet...this could have been the Palace at Versaille
5 out of 5
by John from Houston

Fantastic boutique hotel with the best view!

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful fourth floor room with Windows in three directions and a fireplace! Fantastic room!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oklahoma city

Pampered

Posted Jul 22, 2016
This place was amazing. We were pampered for our entire visit, my favorite place to stay ever!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wentworth is a quality choice in Charleston

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
We went to Charleston for the 4th of July and wanted to stay at the Wentworth Mansion after having been to a reception there for a class reunion a few years ago. We were greeted as special guests when we arrived and were treated as such the four days of our visit. Parking is free (a real benefit with visiting Charleston)and the full breakfast was a real treat(included in the price). Afternoon refreshments were delicious as well and we were introduced to some tasty wines with which we were not familiar. Had we chosen, we could have watched the fireworks from the cupola... fireworks from several directions. It is a short walk to downtown; it was a hot day but only took about 10 minutes on the shady side of the streets. We did not eat dinner at Circa 1886 but guests who did said that the food and staff were excellent. The manager and staff, including breakfast staff at Circa 1886, were some of the most welcoming and accommodating staff we have experienced in our travels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach

Even more than expected!

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: Many things, but the staff really stood out as the best part. Very friendly, helpful, and attentive.
Cons: Really nothing.
Location: Located right next to the College of Charleston, it is in a perfect spot to walk around town.
I had high hopes for this hotel based upon both Expedia and Trip Advisor reviews. It exceeded expectations . I will return every time I'm in Charleston. Elegant and friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolutely the best hotel in Charleston

Posted Apr 1, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel that I was initially booked at for my business trip in Charleston overbooked and the Wentworth Mansion took me in with open arms when there were only 2 rooms left in all of downtown. Words cannot properly explain nor do they provide justification of the hospitality and gracious measures that the staff at the Wentworth Mansion took in order to make me feel welcome and safe. The rooms are absolutely stunning plus I got a chance to enjoy the complimentary gym membership during my trip and breakfast at Circa 1886 Restaurant. I cannot say enough great things about those two amenities plus the others that I will be sure to enjoy during the rest of my stay. I will definitely be telling my family, friends and colleagues about my spectacular stay at the Wentworth Mansion and I can guarantee I will definitely be back. Thank you to everyone at the Wentworth Mansion for showing me what true southern hospitality really is.