Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from in Charlotte

Romantic weekend getaway

Posted Jun 26, 2017
My husband and I made a spur of the moment decision to run away to Charleston for the weekend. We found the Wentworth Mansion online and made the booking. It is BEAUTIFUL, the staff is AWESOME, and our room was so... just... lovely. We had a beautiful, fun weekend and will definitely be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Wentworth Mansion Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy that you will be returning soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Wonderful hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: small comfortable luxury hotel with personal attention
Check in was easy, bell man on site to help with bags, parking included. Room was as comfortable amply spaced and as advertised. Staff was friendly and personable. AAA 4 diamond restaurant on site for breakfast mmm! (included) and dinner also mmm! (on your own). We met some charming folks at wine & hors d'oeuvres hosted by staff each day at 5:00pm. The hotel was located in historic district not too far from shopping. We walked everywhere we went during our stay. (bring some comfortable shoes) Overall a very enjoyable experience and we will return at a future date
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Unique

Posted Jan 11, 2017
This old, former home of a Charleston grandee is a rare--if not exactly unique--hotel. The house is grand, fine, lovely, opulent. The woodwork, the ironwork, the floors, thee bedrooms are all splendid. The ambience is refined, courtly, perhaps, old-fashioned. Now if you want a sleek room with a gym downstairs and a pool, this is not your place. But if you want to live like an old-time aristocrat for a night or two, this is the place for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Penfield, NY

Great location in a residential area.

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Everything. It was like visiting friends rather than staying in a commercial property. The gas fireplaces in every guest room are a real plus.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: It's Charleston. Everything is nearby.
Off street parking in a beautifully landscaped courtyard. The restaurant in the former stables is lovely and has excellent food. The mansion is beautifully appointed and well maintained. The staff are all top notch. This property is a real gem in an historic city full of beautiful homes and non-stop charm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Great experience, wonderful historic building, staff was helpful and especially the restaurant was fabulous
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Excellent

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Just great , only place I'll stay from here on . Staff is top notch, eager to take care of you and make your stay remarkable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic South high style

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Last minute decision to dash thru Charleston after a week on Hilton Head. Only room available was high end...best decision to splurge ever. Gorgeous old South charm. I felt like Scarlett O'Hara. Fabulous gigantic marble bath area with jacuzzi tub and large separate shower. Highest ceilings & lavish woodwork. Forget Scarlet...this could have been the Palace at Versaille
5 out of 5
by John from Houston

Fantastic boutique hotel with the best view!

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful fourth floor room with Windows in three directions and a fireplace! Fantastic room!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oklahoma city

Pampered

Posted Jul 22, 2016
This place was amazing. We were pampered for our entire visit, my favorite place to stay ever!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wentworth is a quality choice in Charleston

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
We went to Charleston for the 4th of July and wanted to stay at the Wentworth Mansion after having been to a reception there for a class reunion a few years ago. We were greeted as special guests when we arrived and were treated as such the four days of our visit. Parking is free (a real benefit with visiting Charleston)and the full breakfast was a real treat(included in the price). Afternoon refreshments were delicious as well and we were introduced to some tasty wines with which we were not familiar. Had we chosen, we could have watched the fireworks from the cupola... fireworks from several directions. It is a short walk to downtown; it was a hot day but only took about 10 minutes on the shady side of the streets. We did not eat dinner at Circa 1886 but guests who did said that the food and staff were excellent. The manager and staff, including breakfast staff at Circa 1886, were some of the most welcoming and accommodating staff we have experienced in our travels.