Ratings based on 702 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel near the beach with beautiful view.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Spacious, comfortable and elegant bed, nice balcony but no ocean view. Wonderful boardwalk and beach.
Location: Unable to do other things except to attend a wedding party
Excellent services: front desk very accommodating, valet parking very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Wonderful hotel and grounds. Rooms are very spacious and very nicely kept. Staff were very friendlly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Very friendly staff. Clean and comfortable room. Easy walk to beach. Fun to pick up sea shells.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Exquisite!

Posted Dec 13, 2016
I don't know about the rest of the rooms that are in the hotel, but the room that we was in we're far more than we expected, it was the best that we have ever experienced . My wife and I would like to return as soon as possible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: That it wasn't a hotel. It was a condo unit.
Location: Beach, pool, golf, tennis, biking , walking etc.
The condo was excellent. From cleanliness to its décor. There was varies things to do in walking distance. There were several restaurants having various price ranges on premise This property is gated. Very quiet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Summer House Condos close to beach

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: The golfing looked nice, however, did not golf this trip.
Location: Sullivan's Island is about a 20 minute drive away. The Obstinate Daughter is a good stop. Charleston is a good 35-45 min drive away.
Upon arrival, our taxi dropped us off near the guest services office. No one was there to help us, so we walked around until we found a staff member and they called someone to come to the guest services desk. Guest services promptly gave us the correct directions as to where to check in. We stayed in the Summer House Condos, and when we stepped foot in the elevator in that building, we wondered how if this ancient looking/sounding elevator would even work. To our surprise, it eventually made its way to our floor. The condo itself was just as outdated and run down as the rest of the place. The hot water barely lasted long enough for the two of us to take a shower. We called once for a new set of sheets, and were told someone would change them out for us, which never happened. The screen door from the master bedroom was ripped in the bottom corner, so when the wind came, it just opened the screen door. It was just a disappointing stay because the website makes the hotel look very nice. I would not recommend staying in the Summer House Condos to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

15 hour getaway!

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: The room was spacious and pure comfort. The staff were accommodating. We had a really good time.
Cons: Everything was beautiful. We needed a crib for our 7 month old and it was a little scary but the room was georgeous.
Location: We were limited on time but Burtonsville grill was really good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshires if Massachusetts

Awesome hotel w cool beach pavilion

Posted Nov 9, 2016
This is a great place! Only minor problem was no shower curtain. The room was gorgeous, whole area in and around hotel beautiful and well maintained, and the restaurant superlative. Would recommend highly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

These are condos, not a hotel.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: It was near the ocean.
Cons: List too long to do on.
When I booked this location, I thought it was for the HOTEL, which I have stayed in before and is lovely. Instead, we were in a very run down 1 bedroom condo. There was plenty of space, which was nice, but this condo has seen better days. I could sit on the screened in porch and if I craned my neck, I could see the ocean. During the day, someone (hotel staff? guests?) got into a loud argument on the floor above me. I decided to take a nap and was awakened by maintenance loudly banging on the door, wanting to come in and "change light bulbs." None were burned out. There is no "do not disturb" sign you can put on your door. This is NOT a hotel, this is a vacation rental. There is NO maid service, NO room service, and you are responsible for re-supplying your condo with paper products and washing your own towels. Just like other vacation rentals, check out was 10:00 a.m. instead of the customary 11:00 or noon in most hotels. The "resort fees" added up to almost another entire days' room fee. Totally not worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Outstanding

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, pools, bars, and beach.
Cons: Nothing.
This is the best hotel I've stayed in for the price. I can't complain about anything. They just exceeded all expectations.