Ratings based on 1,726 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Boston

Beautiful hotel on beach

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Beach, staff, amenities- immaculate
Cons: Prepaying customers should not have any of the amenities (poolside and bar) be cut off for special groups
Location: CHARLESTON!!! Love the city and its restaurants. Favorite was SNOB! Sullivan Island great places to eat as well. Boathouse nice for a sunset drink.
Loved stay there. Could choose between beach and poolside. Breakfast very delicious and poolside was convenient for food and drink. Did not like pool sections on beach being closed during our stay as we pre-paid for this as part of resort amenities. Room could have bed more spacious with deck especially. Beds very comfortable. Shower was great- maid-staff attentive. There should be a mirror in the room itself as the only two were in the bathroom and with more than 2 people this was difficult getting ready. Also beach chairs should be part of the package- we had to rent them $20 per person and extra $20 for umbrella each day we sat on the beach. Beautiful, immaculate surroundings. Wait-staff very friendly and accommodating- pleasant to chat with. Hotel in great location- beach which was clean, warm water and beautiful waves to swim in. Liked the town and surrounding Sullivan Island. Loved how close it was to Charleston and easy it was to get in and out of city. My husband loved the golf and my 16 year-old daughter loved driving him around on the golf cart!! Overall great place to see the area for the first time!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Frank F. - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay at Wild Dunes Resort! I can't tell you how much I appreciate your kind, detailed, and helpful review. I am so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the resort and the surrounding areas of Charleston. Your comments are very helpful, and we will use them as we continue to determine new ways to better serve our guests. Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Our stay was fabulous - great location beautiful rooms and amenities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Frank F. - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us, and for taking the time to write a review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your time at Wild Dunes Resort! We look forward to seeing you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Great resort style hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: The staff and accoodations were first class. Only complaint was very noisy repair work around the adult quiet pool the one day we tried to use it.
Cons: Quality of the on site restaurant. Coastal Provisions (restaurant) did not compare to the rest of the property in service or quality.
Location: Beach and golf right on site.
The hotel and staff were the best. Could not have been more accomadating and helpful. Would not recommend the on site restaurant Coastal Provisions. Service was poor and the food was worse. Wife and I both ordered steaks which arrived over cooked, with sides out of the refrigerator cold. Server took our order and disappeared until he brought our meal, then disappeared into the kitchen again, we had to ask another server to go find the manager for us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: location...right on the beach. short drive to Charleston
Cons: The condo is outdated. The mattress is very uncomfortable.
We stayed for four days. The location was excellent. The condo was not. Besides uncomfortable furniture in the living room and bedroom, there was a hole in the screen and wasps got into the porch. Additionally, the restaurants closed at 5--no place to get dinner at the hotel. This closing time was not mentioned in any of the literature we received.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Frank F. - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us, and for taking the time to provide your feedback. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced concerning your condo and available dining options. I can assure you that this is not up to our standards. I will speak to the property manager about the condo, and ensure that we are properly communicating outlet hours to our incoming guests. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and make up for this experience. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any further assistance. Thank you again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south carolina

great location..... but needs reno

Posted Mar 16, 2017
great location and amenities, seriously stuck in the 90's. things Are looking a little rough around the edges.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Frank F., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with the resort aesthetic. We are working to make some updates, however, so check back with us again soon! Things will surely be more to your liking. Thanks for staying with us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conditions not great, but the Inn is excellent!

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Valet service was excellent! Quick and easy and complimentary
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Frank F. - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us, and for your review! We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Athens, GA

Great location. Lots of privacy. Beautiful island.

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: The hotel is beautiful and elegant, but welcoming at the same. The junior suite was spacious yet cozy. Enjoyed having a balcony.
Cons: We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. Loved it... nothing to report here.
Location: Great location if you want to be close to the beach and plan on visiting Charleston. Plenty of restaurants to choose from. Riding bikes was our fave.
My fiance and I made a last minute decision to stay at the Isle of Palms. We were close to the beach and it was easily accessible from our hotel. We rented and rode bicycles all over the island. It was beautiful. And we felt like we had the island to ourselves. We want to plan a family vacation here next summer. It was the perfect romantic getaway and I highly recommend visiting the Isle of Palms and The Boardwalk Inn. The staff was extremely helpful and always pleasant. We can't wait to go back...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
It was a wonderful stay! I'd recommend to anyone. It's away from the town so its peace and quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Frank F. - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us! I am so happy to hear that you were able to relax and enjoy your time on the resort. We hope to welcome you back to Wild Dunes again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No sleep due to loud heat unit.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Nicebuotel, but heat unit is extremely loud, no sleep unless cut unit off. Was 32 degrees outside so we froze. The staff knew as soon as we complained, but no help.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Frank F. - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with, and for taking the time to write a review. I was truly disappointed to read about your experience while staying with us. I can assure you that is not up to our standards. I will share this review with our engineering team so that we may have the unit addressed right away. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and offer a more relaxing experience. Thank you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

luxury by the beach

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Absolutely wonderful, this will be the only place I vacation when I go to the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Frank F. - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind review - what a huge compliment! I am so happy that you enjoyed your Wild Dunes Resort experience. We can't wait to see you again!