Ratings based on 247 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Posted Feb 16, 2017
The hotel was very clean and modern. My room was very nice with every think that I needed. My only trivial complaint was that the botton on the juice dispenser at breakfast had to be pressed harder than I expected. The staff explained that the machine was recently replaced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast, Australia

Excellent

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Room, staff, breakfast
Cons: Not much
Location: Needed to drive into Charleston proper. plenty of fast food places around hotel.
Great hotel all round - great staff. The room was big, clean and so comfortable. Hotel a bit far from CBD but if you have a car not a problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chesterfield, Virginia

Great hotel 20min from Charleston

Posted Jan 21, 2017
The hotel was quite nice. The staff was professional and courteous. I checked in very late and was meet with a smile that lit up the lobby from the young women at the front desk. My room was clean, however I did find an unopened starburst candy under the bed. Perhaps just an oversite but this would not stop me from staying there again. The breakfast had a nice selection and the staff made sure to replenish items quickly and they were all kind, helpful and always had a smile. The guest were also friendly. I enjoyed my stay!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Comfortable Stay!!

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Wonderful experience. Staff was amazing. The hotel itself was beautiful and very well kept not to mention the room.😁 And the complementary snack bag was a nice touch. I would definitely stay again!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Reasonable price

Posted Jan 3, 2017
The price was not bad however the toilet seat was broken when we arrived that evening abd shower stall had mold along the grout lines along the tub, was surprised since this looked like it had been recently built.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SX

Nice location

Posted Dec 24, 2016
The hotel was very nice. Staff was very welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Great Stay

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Just wanted to say that my experience with Wingate is awesome. No matter which location I stay at its always a great stay! The Charleston location I'm staying at is easily accessible from the interstate, very nice location right next door to a beautiful college. From the time you walk in to the time you check out the staff is always friendly and greeting you with a smile and check in is super fast and easy. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, beds are comfortable, decor is up to date with pictures of downtown Charleston. Hotel is situated in a good location so if you would like to explorer Charleston or experience the pure southern hospitality of Historic Summerville then you've come to the right place. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling through, you will not be disappointed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel.

Posted Dec 14, 2016
the hotel had easy check-in, the rooms were modern and clean. the breakfast was pretty good also.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monroe Ga

Nice Hotel. Great Jacuzzi.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Jacuzzi, Handicap accessible, Friendly staff.
Cons: Pillows need to be firmer. Bed not very comfortable.
Location: Right across from the University. Not much to do. About 30 minutes from Charleston.
We stayed here for 2 nights. No real complaints. Pillows were extremely soft. We like our pillows firm. This made for a restless night. But the best thing about this hotel was the Jacuzzi. It was good and hot. I am handicapped but can get in and out with help from my husband. But I did notice that they had a lift for the Jacuzzi and pool. I was very impressed with that as most hotels do not have this. It is nice to see that this place does consider the handicap. The breakfast was just OK. We got there between 8 and 830am. Already out of stuff and had to wait for a good while before they brought more out. Staff was friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel review

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Wonderful hotel. Helpful and obliging staff. Spacious room. Other than the tasteless coffee being more like warm brown water than coffee, the breakfast buffet was excellent. Only complaint concerning the room was the upholstered furniture had multiple stains and the chair at the desk needed to be either vacuumed or cleaned with a lint brush