Ratings based on 332 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Pool and Hot tub area run down

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Hot tub had so much chlorine in it, it burnt my skin. Ceiling tiles in pool area were hanging down and many fixtures and doors in pool room were rusty. There was no shower in pool room to wash the chlorine off. In our room 125, the heater was a problem. It was either too hot in the room or too cold and we had to get up in the middle of the night to turn it on and off. The current settings available were either too hot or too cold. The shower water was luke warm and necer got hot water. Tje bed however was very comfortable, however there were no extra blankets in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2018 by Rani Smith, Hotel Management
Good evening, Thank you for you review. Your feedback is very important to us. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I want to assure you that I have spoke with the head of maintenance about the issues that you had and this is not acceptable. We have corrected the issuses and apologize for the problem. I do hope you found time to enjoy our beautiful city. Have a wonderful night. Thank you, Rani Smith General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Somewhat Disappointing

Posted Dec 30, 2017
When we got to our room, my son showed me a hole in the ceiling with water dripping from it. Went to front desk and asked to change rooms. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, so we moved 2 doors down. The heater in our room was broken, we had to set it to 0 to make it so it wasnt 100 degrees. The pillows were not my families favorite, we all had stiff necks in the morning. The hallway smelled like dogs, and the hot tub pump was a high pitch annoying sound to say the least. You get what you pay for, I guess.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2018 by Rani Smith, Hotel Management
Good evening, Thank you for your review, your feedback is very important to us. I am very sorry for the issues in your room. We had a pipe burst and were unaware. The problem has been corrected. I will also be checking of the problem with the heater. I am also sorry that you found the pillows to be uncomfortable as they are fairly new. I do hope you enjoyed our beautiful city. Have a wonderful night. Thank you, Rani Smith General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baroda, Michigan

Nice Hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Nice Hotel, very nice staff and nicely clean. The pool and hot tub area is very well taken care of and always has fresh towels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2017 by Rani Smith, Hotel Management
Good evening, Thank you for your review. Your feedback is very important to us. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hearing from you again. Have a wonderful night. Thank you, Rani Smith General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2017
When I first stepped foot in the hotel, i first thought of how outdated everything looked. I stepped up to front desk where there was no one, until I loudly said, “Hello?” A woman by the name of Amy stepped up, and said, “Can I help you?” I told her that we needed to check in. Through our entire conversation she was very matter of fact and not warm and friendly what so ever. There was never a “How are you?” Or “Do you need help with your luggage?” Things that I would consider as typical customer service protocol. Poor customer service right from the beginning gave me a bad feeling. We went in to our room on the second floor and as soon as we walked in, we were disappointed. It was tiny and super outdated. We turned on the lights over the beds which were strobing. We decided that was going to be super annoying to deal with, so I went down to front desk to see if we can go to a different room. Amy was actually quite accommodating and got us a new room on the third floor. But once again, no asking if we need help moving rooms or anything. We got our belongings and went to our second room on the third floor. As soon as we opened up the door to that room, the freezing cold air from the room hit us. The window to the outside was wide open (no screen in the window), and it was 17 degrees outside. We closed the window and turned the heat to 90 degrees (as high as it would go). We were wearing our jackets and the heat wasn’t coming on. So we called front desk again and asked to speak
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2017 by Rani Smith, Hotel Management
Good evening, Thank you for your review. Your feedback is very important to us. I am very sorry that you were greeted in this manor. It is our goal to make all of our guests feel welcome, and that we are hear to assist you. I want to assure you that I will be speaking to our entire staff on this issue, and it will be corrected. I am also sorry about the window being open in the room. I have had a meeting with the head of maintenance and housekeeping staff about being thorough once they have finished cleaning or fixing anything in the room. Once again I do apologize. I hope you have a wonderful holiday season. Thank you, Rani Smith General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canton, MI

Very nice front desk staff. Hot water not hot.

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Pros: Friendly front desk staff. Nice breakfast in the morning. 24 hour hot tub and pool.
Cons: The hot water in the showers was warm at best and just barely tolerable to shower in. A friend staying at the hotel in a different room the same nigh
Location: We stayed there while skiing Boyne Mountain and Nubs Nob.
I stayed there for a weekend night while skiing at Boyne and Nubs Nob. The front desk staff was very friendly and nice. It's nice for once that the hot tub is open 24 hrs instead of closing at abnormally early times. The hotel is overall not as new looking as the photos make it look but still nice and well kept. My only real complaint is that the hot water in the showers was warm at best and just barely tolerable to shower in. A friend staying at the hotel in a different room the same night had the same issue. The hot water system for the overall hotel needs to be turned up higher desperately bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2017 by Rani Smith, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Thank you for your review. Your feedback is very important to us. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the hotel staff and the 24 hour pool. I am sorry about the hot water. I have not heard of this until now, but be assured that I will have our maintenance manager look into the issue. I do hope you enjoyed our beautiful city as well. Have a wonderful day. Happy holidays, Rani Smith General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great little place

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Awesome little place in Charlevoix for a great off-season price. The only issue was that we got put in an accessible room with a special shower that got the floor wet... but honestly, I probably could have gotten another room if I'd asked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Rani Smith, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Thank you for your review. Your feedback is very important to us. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit to Charlevoix the beautiful. Have a wonderful night. Thank you, Rani Smith General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from charlevoix

Disgusting

Posted Nov 26, 2017
The pool and hot tub were gross!! My room had dirty hairs everywhere!! It was absolutely disgusting!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Rani Smith, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Thank you for your review. Your feedback is very important to us. I am very sorry for the condition of your room and pool area. I will be working with our housekeeping team to correct the issues. This is not general practice at our hotel and it will be addressed immediately. I hope you were able to enjoy the rest of your time in Charlevoix the beautiful. Have a great night. Thank you, Rani Smith General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pleasant helpful staff. Rooms clean and presented well. Like the 24 hour pool and hot tub availability.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Rani Smith, Hotel Management
Good morning, Thank you for your review. Your feedback is very important to us. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and our 24 hour pool. Have a wonderful week. Thank you, Rani Smith General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids

Friendly Staff, comfortable rooms.

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Location: It's Charlevoix, what more can be said?
Staff whether morning, evening or afternoon, didn't matter, all were very friendly and helpful. Beds were extremely comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2017 by Rani Smith, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Thank you for your review, your feedback is very important to us. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree about our new beds, they are quite comfortable. I hope you had time to enjoy our beautiful city as well. Have a great weekend. Thank you, Rani Smith General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wabash IN.

more nutritional breakfast. Lower sodium.

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: good
Cons: breakfast
Location: our daughter lives in East Jordan
always good visit with our daughter.We come to see her a couple of times each year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2017 by Rani Smith, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Thank you for your review, your feedback is very important to us. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your time with your daughter. We look forward to your next visit to Charlevoix the beautiful. Have a wonderful weekend. Thank you, Rani Smith General Manager