Ratings based on 294 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2018
Pros: Food, bar, view, front desk
Cons: Room condition
Food and bar were wonderful at hotel. I realize they are still recovering from hurricane 5 months later but things like painting and cleanliness were missing. Hotel dated and needs some upgrading. Not sure how trip advisor gives a 4 star rating. Beautiful view of harbor
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Lots of character

Posted Mar 3, 2018
Pros: The view
Cons: Needs lots of basic maintenance aside from storm damage- windiows, shades, A/C, could use some new furniture.
Location: Only a short drive to town, but you could easily just hang by the pool al day and the restaraunt bar for the evening.
A little rough around the edges, but lots of character. Essentially built on the side of a cliff. Stone stairways with murals on outside walls. May have the best view of the harbor on the island. Good and reasonably priced drinks at the pool bar. While it weathered the Hurricanes well there is still some storm damage. No TV service. Includes a full breakfast. Restaraunt is a great spot in the evening. Beware there are lots of fairly steep stairs and no elevators.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Not a good value.

Posted Jan 17, 2018
For paying $400 for a room and another $100 for dinner, we won’t be staying again. They’ve endured a lot from Irma but their rates should reflect the value. I can get a much better room for $80 at an EconoLodge anywhere in the states if that says anything.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando Florida

Kicked out in the storm

Posted Sep 6, 2017
My family was trying to evacuate from approaching Hurricane Irma. No luck with flights or boats. We had to find a hotel and someone suggested Mafolie. We made a reservation and took a cab from the ferry dock. Our room was down 3 flights of stairs outside, which we had to carry all our bags in the rain.No air conditioning in the living room of the $250 suite, only in the bedroom. Then they told us we had to be out the next day so they could board up the hotel. They suggested a shelter....
3 out of 5
by John

Posted Sep 1, 2017 on Hotels
Restaurant and view is magnificent! Rooms a little tired but what made the one night stay difficult is the room air conditioning failed in some way and it became quite hot. The rooms are fine, a little dated, with comfortable bed, but the "one off" air conditioning failure spoiled the stay.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

brilliant view!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
terrific team, lovely rooms, view-to-die-for, excellent food!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Paul

Night at the Mafolie!!

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
A beautiful view of the harbor! Room was clean and sufficiently large. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Gorgeous view!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: View! Staff.
Location: Up the hill. Most things are a taxi ride away. The view is worth it.
We loved our lanai and the view it provided. Although the hotel is up the crazy hill, the taxis got us to and fro. Staff was friendly. Bed was comfortable.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017
We had a short but lovely visit and the service was friendly and prompt.