Ratings based on 1,570 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Lamont

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silver Spring, MD

Great first stay in St. Thomas

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Views, amenities
Cons: Personally,I didn't care for the birds perching on the chairs & tables at the Sunset Grill.The food was great, but I think that aspect is unsanitary.
Location: The hotel gym, restaurants and beach are really the only things you can walk to. Cabs are necessary to get anywhere else.
I am very pleased with the choice I made to stay at Frenchman's Reef. Although it's not in the middle of downtown Charlotte Amalie where restaurants and shops are more easily accessible, the property is beautiful and provides impressive picture-taking opportunities. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurants' offerings were limited, but very tasty/flavorful. The view from the huge windows at Acqua Terra was spectacular. All in all, I rate this resort very highly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Hidden Fees

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Beware of the hidden "$45 a day resort fees" you find out about the morning of your check out. Per hotel staff, these fees are for 2 bottles of water you receive daily from the maids, using towels, chairs and umbrellas by the pool, the spotty Wi-Fi they say is free, fitness classes whether you participate in them or not, snorkel gear and kayaks that they never tell you you have access to, among with a slew of other ridiculous things. Never in my life has a hotel/resort charged me for sitting on chairs they have by the pool, because it is not like they were the cabanas you knowingly had to pay for to reserve. This hotel has a knack for secret charges and charged my credit card without me knowing or approving, for services never rendered to me. It took me the entire week length of my stay to get my money back. The hotel staff even tried to say that I was charged extra fees because Expedia did not pay them, which is so big of a lie in and of itself. The fact that this hotel does not openly mention that the snorkel gear and kayaks are "free" to use is egregious. Mainly because they really sell their snorkeling and kayaking excursions that you have to pay for! Stay away from the buffet dinner cruise on the cat, unless you like your buffet coming out of small crock pots that only allowed people to eat once. Never in my life will I stay in this resort again, as there are plenty of other better places that do not blindside others.
5 out of 5
by Luis R

Excellent hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing hotel with large rooms, beach and 3 swimming pools-beatiful!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staten Island, NY

The good and bad of our trip.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Most of the staff was phenomenal and the room was clean. Although the menus at the restaurants were limited, the food was very good.
Cons: The menu could be expanded a little and some of the staff could be a little more personal.
Location: The location was good and we didn't really do much off the property.
For the most part our experience was very good. The hotel was very nice and the "native" staff was awesome. Some of the other staff tended to be "business-like".
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

The Hotel is Outdated and Unclean

Posted Sep 4, 2017
I moved from the Marriott to the Ritz Carlton - best move I made to make our vacation the best!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice hotel but a bit pricey on food and cocktails

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Nice hotel with friendly staff but be prepared to pay a great deal to eat. Each meal for two people averaged $60 a person even breakfast!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Eh

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Hotel is dated. The one floor smelled like a wet dog. The $45/day resort fee is insane since most people don't use half the things covered in the fee. The fact that you can't even get a towel after 5pm is just crazy. The food at the hotel is disgusting, cold, and overpriced. $25 for breakfast buffet. This should be covered in the resort fee seeing as everyone eats. Overall, I was disappointed with my stay here.
5 out of 5
by Joanne

Best stay ever

Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was amazing!
5 out of 5
by Julie

Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
Beds were on the hard side. overall the resort was beautiful. I would definitely return.