Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2018
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2018
My stay at sunset gardens was great. We enjoyed staying there.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2018 by Deb, Hotel Management
We thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are still in recovery, and are working diligently to rebuild and refurbish. We hope to be fully rebuilt and better than before the hurricanes, so on your next visit you will not have to view the property in its current state. Thx Again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2018
Great hotel nice experience close to beach and entertainment
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2018 by Deb and Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy life to review us. We are working very hard to put things back together. We know the property is a little rough around the edges, but so appreciate the review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hudson Ma

Posted Apr 16, 2018
St Thomas is recovering, as is this hotel. If you are expecting perfect do not go to St Thomas, or this hotel, if you want to help and have a clean place to stay this is a good choice. The pool is no yet open as the hurricanes did a lot of damage. The manager is great and will do whatever is needed to help you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2018 by Deb, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review. And Thx again for sharing snacks. We enjoyed them. I hope that we see you again on your next trip through. Pool Deck is nearly completed. YAY! Thanks again from All of us at Sunset Gardens
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2018
the manager is very customer service and so nice I will come and visited soon hello donna
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2018 by Deb, Hotel Management
Thank You so much for taking a minute to give us a review. We are very appreciative of any and all that come to support us during our recovery process. It is because of you that we can and will bring our property back to an even better Sunset Gardens than before the devastating Hurricanes that we experienced. I look forward to your return!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant staff. Filthy house keeping

Posted Mar 6, 2018
Pleasant staff. Old wore out facilities, filthy house keeping. View great. It's a 1 priced up ad a 6
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2018 by Deb, Hotel Management
I apologize that you found our property filthy. We are working very hard to upgrade and rebuild. We are rebuilding All Rooms, and All get a thorough deep cleaning regularly. We are putting in new equipment and furnishings as they are arriving on island. The recovery process on Island is slow as we do not have the manpower to get everything done as quickly as we would like to. Please forgive and understand that we recently went through 2 - Category 5 Hurricanes and are working hard to rebuild as quickly as possible.
4 out of 5
by Isiah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poconos, PA

Owner was super nice and very accomodating

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Our flight was delayed from Miami and she allowed for after hours check in and then even allowed us to make a last minute cancellation because the flight was delayed until the next day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Deb, Hotel Management
Thank You Lisa, I hope everything worked out and everyone was able to get started on their vacation with no additional bumps in the road.
1 out of 5
by Corinna

Do Not Stay Here.

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
Disgusting accommodation. Mosquito larvae in coffee pot. holes in sheets. Ants. Mold/meldew. Spiders. Walls with dirt/filth. Unfriendly staff. Couch smells of smoke, with stains. Shower head with mold. floors with stains. pool with chips and broken tile pieces. When I requested a refund, the manager at the counter refused to give until I showed her the video of the mosquito larvae. This was the worst place I've ever stayed at. By far, hands down.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Mar 29, 2017
This hotel is up on a hill as it's an island. The road to the hotel is very narrow so you have to either rent a car or use the taxi service. There's not pedestrian path. Taxis are per person $10. Plus $2-4. Per bag. If your bag can fit on your lap do not allow the taxi driver to put it in the trunk, because he will charge you for it. To get to the beach you have to drive and also go into the town for food. The hotel itself is more for a short stay or budget travel. Wifi Is in common areas or on the patio. Once you go into the room the signal is lost. I think it has to do with the building layout. Check- in seems to be after 3pm for most places. I was given a room even though I arrived early. The lady at check in was very informative and suggested taxi services and places to eat. Seems to me that activities generally surrounded the arrival of a cruise ships. For my preference the water was warm but not hot.I would have rather the choice of controlling how much heat I needed. There are general sounds of island life like the crowing of the birds early in the morning some are close and some are distant sounds The food prices are the same as anyplace in the US. lunch starts at around $15-20. Buy duty free in the town avoid the airport prices I found them to be more in comparison. Just wrap the alcohol in your clothes. The island is generalIy safe watch your items on the beaches. I would stay again but I would rent a vehicle the second time around Left hand driving.