Ratings based on 660 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC

Dunhill took care of us!

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Exactly the location I needed to attend a downtown industry conference--but with my partner with me have a very romantic add-on!
Cons: There was one outlet in a lamp base on the desk...and a wall outlet we could not get to work. Could use at least one more.
Location: The Exploratorium and IMAX are right next door! Carowinds' roller coasters are 15 min drive (if no traffic)
We arrived with a prepaid third-party reservation for two nights--at 11 a.m. on Day 1. Amazingly, the Hotel was able to put me in a great room immediately...while my partner went off to Carowinds roller coasters (not my thing!) The hotel is in the center of downtown Charlotte, vintage, and yet up to the minute comfortable. Very clean, very well appointed. The only downs really were not much: we did not think there was a fridge for the first day because it was inside a beautiful wooden bureau... and there could have been one more easy-to-get-to outlet for charging our multiple devices... these were more that outweighed by Prompt and friendly staff (we did valet parking--well worth the small additional) and the atmosphere in the lounge / bar in the lobby. Everyone had a smile that was genuine, and ready to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the heart of downtown Charlotte.

Posted Oct 6, 2017
In the heart of downtown Charlotte.Close to the night life and lots of great restaurants are close by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2017
All staff were consistently happy, pleasant to speak with, and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A little short of excellence

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: It was older, had great character.
There was no valet present, either when we arrived or when we left. We had to go in to the hotel to ask about it and then, it was still an incremental wait and still a $30 price tag. Don't waste your money on the valet parking. Our room, paid for in advance, had a beautiful view of the hotel's heating and cooling systems. Not very romantic. And ironically, despite our close proximity to the heating and cooling, our room temp was 63 degrees at the door and in the bathroom, with no circulation to the let of that area - in the rest of the room which was all to the left, it was hotl Lovely bar in the lobby, and a great bartender.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilmington, NC

Great old beauty

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Great historic hotel right in the middle uptown Charlotte.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from BC

Beautiful historic hotel in the hear of Charlotte

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: Boutique, character, personable and historic in the heart of everything
Cons: Our in-room fridge was not turned on when we arrived, which was disappointing as we had brought a couple of beers to enjoy that evening.
Location: Discovery place Noda, South end and all of downtown
My husband and I and my two year old stayed at the Dunhill for the first night of our family vacation to Charlotte and Hilton Head Island. The hotel is very charming and the staff were personable. We loved the close driving distance to Noda even though the hotel is surrounded by an abundance of great places to eat and drink. Our room was pretty small, but being that it is a historic hotel, we knew that would be likely. The hotel breakfast was exceptional and a great way to start the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

Historic Hotel in best part of Charlotte

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Location: Great location to walk the blocks around the hotel in historic Charlotte. Beautiful open plazas and city spaces all about.
I love to support historic hotels so that the buildings and the history survive and make those cities charming and interesting. However, while the buildings form the past may be wonderful, the quality of the stay is dependent on the present-day management. The Dunhill was just wonderful. the rooms had all the historic appointments and charm, but with wonderful mattresses, bedding, and the amenities expected by the modern traveler. the staff was delightful and willing to please. The breakfast was more than expected, especially the dining room looking over Tryon Street. the Dunhill made my first visit to the City of Charlotte a treasured memory. I hope to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Anglia

Comfortable

Posted Sep 18, 2017
I stayed 3 nights. One night the hotel was full to bursting but it remained nice and friendly, cosy even. The rooms are small by modern hotel standards, but comfortable. The staff are terrific.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, nc

Great location! Very friendly staff and turn down

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Had a great time, customer service was stellar!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from greensboro nc

Very nice hotel. Close to our venue.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Staff was super friendly and accommodating. Room was spacious with an old world charm.