Ratings based on 434 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. close to interstate.

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Pros: Very friendly. Desk clerk was most accomdating.
Cons: The hotel needs a portico for covered loading during inclement weather or loading elderly travelers.
Location: N/A
Great location. Loved the pre-pay to guaranteed late arrival. Staff was lovely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
So happy our staff was so very accommodating for you. We will listen to your advise and let management know about your great idea.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Enjoyable Stay

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Solid accomodations, good value................................
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 star review, glad we were a great Value for you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roanoke VA

Very Clean Room, Nice Staff, Beds hard as a rock.

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Cons: Better mattress
Very Clean room. The bed was too hard for me. The staff very friendly.
4 out of 5
by keith

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spring Lake

Would stay again

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Pros: Very short drive to Carowinds, which was reason for my stay. I enjoyed the full breakfast and not just muffins fruit and cereal like most hotels.
Cons: The ice machine needs to be cleaned daily. There were particles of black stuff in ice, which I did notify front desk staff. More Parking would be nice
Location: Nice variety of restaurants and shopping
Soon as I walked in I was greeted by very friendly staff. Hotel smelled very good as well as my room. Room was clean and beds were comfy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

disappointing stay at this hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2016
Pros: Beds were clean and comfortable
Cons: improve overall cleanliness
I have stayed at many Country inns and Suites and found them to be clean and excellent value for the money.. This particular Hotel did not measure up. Here are a few problems : Black Ants in the room. Both Live and dead ones. I was given another room as the result. In the second room the sink was plugged and the water from the tap came out like a jet and sprayed my pants. Candy wrappers on the floor..Probably never vacuumed. Cobwebs on the windows..Dirty sheer curtains Mirror removed from the wall. Appeared to be a plumbing repair job in progress. An unusual odor in the room. The complimentary breakfast had scrambled eggs which were cold. The heater to keep the eggs warm wasn't working
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2016 by ashley, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to hear that your recent stay did not live up to the standards that you have come to know from Country Inn and Suites. We do apologize that your guest room was less the accommodating and that you had to switch rooms during your stay. We also want to apologize for the breakfast. We will make sure to speak to the various departments to share these concerns with them to make sure that we are making improvements to the hotel.
4 out of 5
by patricia from pittsburgh

Easy and quick stay

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Convenient, pet friendly
5 out of 5
by Charlene from Concord, NC

Catawba Bingo fun.

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was conveniently located to the Catawba Bingo hall. The hotel was easy to get to, staff were very friendly, room size was great, room was clean with no odors. A very nice breakfast which was fresh and the hours that breakfast was served was convenient. We will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by barb

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spring Break Disaster

Posted Mar 26, 2016 on Hotels
The minute we got to our room I wanted to check out but all the hotels in the area were full. The entire hotel smelled with what we guessed to be their cleaning product. The staff was very friendly. When we got to our room the it was not finished being cleaned. The bathroom floor was sticky and there were no towels. The WiFi was spotty and didn't always work. Every morning it was the same thing for breakfast. Will not stay there gain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Ashley, Hotel Management
We are happy to hear that the staff was very friendly during your stay. We also want to apologize for the disappointing service you received with the room not being cleaned and for the smell of cleaner throughout the hotel. We are also sorry that the WiFi was not working properly and that the breakfast options were not switched up. We will be sure to pass these comments along to our housekeeping department and to the breakfast department to ensure that we are making changes better the guest experience.