Ratings based on 422 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Decent hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: On our route, comfortable bed and large shower.
Cons: Better cleaning service - check the microwave!! That pizza had to have been there for a week or more.
Location: Half hour + to Charlotte, NC. Not much else nearby, but directions to big box stores and grocery stores would have been good to have.
We arrived late in the evening, and the room smelled like dog food. Discovered the reason when we used the microwave the next morning. Someone had left a piece of pizza in the microwave, and it had been there long enough to harden. Room was nice, plenty of space for 2, the furniture had seen better days, however. Finishes were worn on fixtures and tables. Comfortable bed. Breakfast was not included in room price, but it consisted of a 'buffet' of cereal, eggs and toast for $8 per person in the 'cafe,' similar to what lower priced hotels offer for free. We picked up some instant oatmeal and fresh fruit at the grocery store instead. The area around the hotel is difficult to navigate in the dark, the exit appeared to be one-way, but we found a better way out of the parking lot the next morning in daylight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2015 by Ashley G. , Hotel Management
Dear notforbusiness First of all, we want to thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback regarding your recent stay at our Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte/Matthews property. Your opinion is really important to us as we strive for excellence in all that we do. We are glad to know there were some aspects you enjoyed from your stay such as the comfy beds and large showers. Your feedback helps us to improve on a daily basis by identifying our strengths and weaknesses. We truly regret that you left with a poor impression from the hotel and services and are really concerned to learn about your disappointments. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the appropriate hotel team members to ensure that we are providing the best service/environment possible. We would like to thank you for your feedback and do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back so you can see for yourself our dedication to you as our guest. Until then, take care. Warm regards, Ashley Gerthoffer Quality Manager
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautiful Hotel with reasonable Price

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: Room
Cons: Spa wasn't as hot as I like
Location: Convenient to all restaurants
Room was nicer that expected We were very happy with our stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Poor space. Tv viewing difficult. No breakfast with night stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2015 by Katie R, Hotel Management
Thanks for the feedback. I will make sure to pass it on to our team members to ensure we are aiming for excellence in all that we do. We hope to welcome you back soon!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WV

Nice clean hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Easy to find. Convenient to reasonably priced restaurants.
Cons: Just the fitted sheets. Complimentary breakfast
Location: Excellent location with a short drive to uptown Charlotte.
The only problem we had was that the fitted bottom sheets kept coming lose.
5 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SC

in between the Carolinas

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: nice amenities, clean
Cons: Jacuzzi, snacks in the room when you have a later check-in
Location: plenty of restaurants nearby
After being at Carowinds all day, we decided to stay over from exhaustion. We had the breakfast buffet and enjoyed our stay until 12 noon. We had the King Suite and the King rooms.
5 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Philippi, West Virginia

Visiting friends in Matthews, NC

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: The dinning room staff at breakfast is very friendly and quick with service.
Location: The motel is near to the interstate exit.
I had previously stayed in this motel and therefore knew how to get to it. Nice motel. Due to my schedule, I have never gotten a chance to try out the swimming pool. The Charlotte/Matthews area is hot and humid. The motel is cool and comfortable.
5 out of 5
for Families
by Tamara

Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Hotels
Good place. The exercise equipment were rather beat up and the indoor Jacuzzi was not working during our stay. I would still recommend the place and personally go back.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waldwick, NJ

Close to where we needed to be.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: All of the staff was super friendly. Rooms were clean and bed was super comfortable. Last but not least, the price was right!
Cons: Nothing
Location: It was about 30 minutes from the airport. The best part was we were only 6 miles from our friends house that we came down to visit.
Four of us went down to surprise a friend who is not well. The hotel was six miles from her house which made it very convenient. The staff was so friendly. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
for Couples
by Richard

Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
Staff was really nice and hotel was as clean as in pictures
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Double Charged

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: The hotel itself was lovely and very clean.
Cons: Better communication.
Location: A restaurant called Mootchies, off of Idlewild Road was AMAZING!!!!
The HUGE issue is that I paid through Expedia, I verified this at check in and two times after that. However, the hotel charged me the entire amount again on the credit card that I gave for incidentals - not once - but TWICE - the second time after I verified that they charged me incorrectly. 3 days later, it is still pulled from my available balance although they assured me it would be released. The hotel itself is lovely, the staff is very kind, but the person who charged me twice is less than to be desired.