Ratings based on 566 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: It was convenient. Liked the fridge and microwave
Cons: getting rid of the musty smell in the hallway and the room
Location: close to many nice restaurants.
the room was a little cramped but adequate. It was clean but had a slight musty smell.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Quiet, clean and comfortable. Nice staff as well. Good location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by Ashley G, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Matthews. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in the area. Until then, wishing you safe travels. Yours in Hospitality, Ashley G. Quality Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland

Not what was described.

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Accurate description as they blam Expedia for all the errors in the reservation.
Location: Not close to Carowinds as described on site. Carowinds was a great park no lines kids loved it compared to cedar point!
Reservations through Expedia clearly stated that it was for 5 people. I checked the room descriptions carefully and chose a room for five. I requested a roll away bed. When we arrived we were but in a room that stated it was for a maximum occupancy of 4. No rollaway for the first night or other room as they were sold out. Someone had to sleep on the floor. The second night against the fire code they put a rollaway in the room and you could not move or open the refrigerator. Reservation also clearly states you had a choice to pay extra for the breakfast buffet, so I did. Well the hotel does not offer a buffet during the week. Real bust at this place totally disappointed for a Marriott property. Location to Carowinds park that was listed on site was also off my many miles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by Ashley G., Hotel Management
Dear Bethany, Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott for your stay while in the Charlotte/Matthews area. It is our privilege having you stay with us. We value your opinion and encourage your continued feedback regarding our many services. The last thing we want to see is you leaving here unhappy. I am sorry to hear that you were unable to meet and exceed your expectations. I know how upsetting it can feel to not have the important details adhered too. Again, thank you for your honest feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon so you can see for yourself our dedication to you as our guest. Yours in hospitality, Ashley G. Quality Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando

DONT STAY HERE

Posted May 13, 2016 on Orbitz
The hotel was so bad I had to leave and get another one. The entire hotel and my room smelled of cigarette smoke.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great customer service

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Hotel is doing upgrades and everyone was so welcoming and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2016 by Ashley G., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Matthews. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We actually just finished our multi-million dollar reservations and our new bistro is up and running. We hope to welcome you back soon so you can enjoy it for yourself. Until then, take care. Sincerely, Ashley G. Quality Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Front desk young man very nice/friendly

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
It was on our way north
5 out of 5
by Ronald from Seattle

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was really great. New Marriot so everything was perfect. The management was the best I have seen. The customer service to their guests. There was not one thing I disliked and I travel extensively.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Joseph

Exactly what we needed!

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Great! Clean! Rooms recently remodeled! Caution though, the lobby is being remodeled. Hotels.com doesn't tell you that. Definitely would stay again. The remodeling is awesome.
5 out of 5
by Guy P. from Charlotte,NC

Getaway

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was great. Not a lot of nearby restaurants. Continental breakfast was weak in the number of offering. Overall nice place.