Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2015
I had a wonderful stay! The staff was very helpful and pleasant.
Comment from EPC
Aug 27, 2015 by Chad C, Assistant General Manager, EPC
Thank you so much for the feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come to visit us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin

Great hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2015
I booked this room under a specialty rate and I was not disappointed. Lobby is beautifully decorated and the breakfast was excellent. Only two complaints. One is that accessing the hotel can be a bit tricky and the second is that our chaise lounge seat had a suspicious stain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winston

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2015
This was a nice hotel staff was ok we enjoy our day at the pool was excellent the bartender at at the poolside bar was the best ivfelt bad for him he was the only one there had ti leave the bsr un staffed alot wasnt his fault he just had ti get food and us fresh towels which was the best he needs a raise! we did have an issue when we went out they said they would take us which they did and to just call them when we were ready to be picked up that they would pick us up. when we went to call to be picked up they said they would be there in a few we were just a few blocks away but we waited and waited and waited and they never showed up called them twice even the person at the culb was like they were usually good about coming. I had to pay for a cab to get back which really upset me if you say you're going to do something I expect it to be done. I would recommend this hotel but dont count on a one service on getting picked back up. it is a nice hotel but need to work on the staff to keep customers they do need to get the bathrooms cleaned better in the pool area the toilet was stopped up and I did mention it to somebody but they never fixed it other than that the price for this hotel is a little pricey for the lackness of the pool area and transportation issuee
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2015
The room was very modern. We loved the pool and loby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

very crowded

Posted Jul 31, 2015
The hotel was very nice, the staff were on their game! this hotel i assume is pretty popular because there were always alot of people in the lobby, it was very noisy, the pool and hot tube were always full of people and the out side seating was limited due to all of the guest staying at the hotel. over all the room was very nice and comfortable. it was a little cramped but for two people it wasnt too bad. There was not a mini fridge in our room which was a little disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carrboro, NC

Nice and cozy hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2015
I went for a two days real estate workshop and stayed two nights in Crown Plaza. The hotel is clean and comfortable queen bed. No small freeze, tv is so small compared to the standard and the room rate of the hotel. First I thought breakfast was free and included with my room booking through Expedia but it cost me $16 plus. The shower is horrible throwing only hot water from the head shower unit but I had take bath through filling water on the bathtub. Though there were some flaws but satisfied staying.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Good location, but lacking much

Posted Jul 17, 2015
I chose this hotel because it was the only one with both an indoor and outdoor pool. Not worth it. For starters, it was not cheap. If I pay over $200 for a room it should at least have a fridge and include a continental breakfast. Check-in staff was wonderful, check out lady was chewing food and didn't even acknowledge me until I spoke first. Hot tub had mold in it...ew. Exhaust fan in bathroom didn't work and there was an odd mildew smell near the bed. I didn't complain, I just won't ever go back. I will stick with Wyndam or Embassy Suites. Many more creature comforts for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Not What I Expected

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Because of the latest changes the only thing I like is the location.
Cons: I would change this hotel back to the way it was while under the Marriott umbrella. This clearly makes a big difference.
Location: The location is nice and close to the interstate.
I have resided at this hotel many times in the past when it was the Marriott. This was my first occasion since the name change and now with the hotel under IHG. I must say this was my last visit. Gone was the spectacular breakfast with chefs making the Belgium Waffles and omelets. It has been replaced with a buffet style breakfast which is ok but clearly does not offer the same options as I received in the past. I also had issue with having to pay for my children's breakfast since I paid in advance which included breakfast for my family. I discussed this with the hotel staff at the front desk but was told to speak with Food and Beverage. Room service was also not the same as clearly the prices increased while portion servings noticeably decreased. I notified the staff my room required cleaning before I left for about four hours only to return to my room in the same condition I left the room. The final straw was upon my return I realized I had been charged by the hotel with the amounts totaling over $850. Before I called to see why this happened one charge was removed so I was not left with charges totaling over $450. I paid this reservation in advance so the only charges should have been room service for two nights. It took some time and several calls but Wendy at the front desk worked tirelessly to resolve my issue. Because of this latest experience I will not recommend this hotel nor will I stay there again. After six years I now must find a new place for my vacations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston, WV

Great stay

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Location. Proximity to I-77. Quality of room and amenities. Staff assitance. Easy parking.
Cons: Complimentary breakfast could be included.
Location: Great location just 10 minutes from downtown or Carowinds Amusement Park and alongside I-77. Plenty of eateries nearby.
We booked this hotel as a last minute stay over while traveling through Charlotte. We were pleasantly surprised by the value of what we got via Expedia. Great price. Excellent hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Everything was lovely! The only thing I didn't like was that I had to wait for my room to get clean the second day.