Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh,NC

Nice hotel. Close to friends home.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Location was good. Lots to do within walking distance.
Location: Great location. Restaurants, gas stations, shopping all nearby.
Room was very clean, but very small also. Beds were clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Staff was very friendly and accommodating; the breakfast was excellent, the room was clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great hotel with amenities

Posted Sep 2, 2016
I love this hotel! We have stayed here twice and will stay there again next time we are in the area. The rooms are very clean and I love the fact that they wash the duvet along with the sheets so you don't have to worry about cleanliness at all! The front desk staff are very helpful as well! They have many amenities and even do a free wine/beer and appetizers on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday nights. They have a free breakfast daily which is more than bagels and cereal. It's cleanest hotel I have ever stayed at and that means a lot to me!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Always Trust Hampton Inn!!

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Great location, near I-485 around Charlotte. Easy to get to Matthews & other places. Good breakfast.
Cons: Needs some updating
Location: Lots of restaurants, shopping & activities. Matthews is a nice little town to visit, and Charlotte offers many experiences.
Nice stay for cousin reunion for seniors. However, we had difficulty with our room. It was 2-3 hours before we received a room key that worked. The bathroom had a strong urine smell, and the window shade would not go all the way down, leaving a light coming through all night. I got to sleep around 4:00 am. A little disappointed, since we trust Hampton Inn in traveling. I think this hotel just needs a little updating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from B.C. Canada

Good location to multiple restaurants

Posted May 25, 2016
Pros: I will stay there again for my next business trip. Good free wifi with option to upgrade - free wifi had good signal strength.
Cons: Did not have a bar fridge - that would have been nice as I usually like to by some minor food stuffs for my room.
Location: Good options for restaurants in walking distance, Apple Tree next door. Red Lobster and Outback also walking distance. Strip mall across the road.
Staff were friendly. Hotel was clean and quite. I attended business meetings and it was my first time in North Carolina, so I can't comment about its location, however it was about 30 mins from the airport by rented car. (I relied on my GPS). No issues with checking in or out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Overall the stay was nice. The bathroom could have been updated better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mediocre hotel, ok just to put head in bed.

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The list is too long
Location: We were only there due to an emergency situation.
My husband and I booked two rooms though EXPEDIA, one for the two of us and one for my 92-yr old mother. We live in the area. The reason for our stay was that our electricity had been off for several days due to a bad storm. My mother needs my assistance and I specifically asked for adjoining rooms. The Expedia agent was not even familiar with the area of the country in which the hotel was located and Charlotte, NC is not just a blip on the radar screen. At any rate, he assured me he had secured adjoining rooms, to ask for "Ella" and that the room charges were nonrefundable. He did not speak English well and I had difficulty understanding him. When we arrived at The Hampton Inn the first snafu was that they did NOT have adjoining rooms for us and Ella said she had specifically told the agent that none were available. Nice. So....tired and hungry, we had to leave and take my mother to a relative's home which I was uneasy about doing and come back to a less than well-kept room with no operating heat/air. Pitiful. I'll never stay there again.. Ella said she could not make any adjustments for the situation we encountered because we booked trough a third party. We will NEVER use EXPEDIA again or stay at the Hampton Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Great staff!

Posted Feb 15, 2016
I only stayed one night, but the stay was very comfortable. The staff was welcoming and pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Check in was fast and accurate. The stay was clean and Cozy enjoyed my stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Myrtle Beach

Wicked weather

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: I don't know if you can do anything about the sound at this time. Maybe separate the guest when possible so they will not be side by side.
Location: good location for up town activities.
We chose to spend the night in Charlotte after seeing the play "Wicked" because of the recent snow and travel conditions. The hotel location was perfect in our situation. Hotel staff were pleasant both checking in and leaving. No problems using Expedia. The parking lot was not cleared but we found areas to use that were fine. The coffee bar was great during the cold weather. The only concern was the room was not sound proof and we could hear people talking, not overly loud nor late at night. I hope we did not disturb them when we came in late. My daughter commented to me that it was a nice place to stay.