Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great staff!

Posted Sep 13, 2016
The hotel was under construction so I can't give it a 5, but the hotel staff was terrific. I would give them a 5 for customer service!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Residence in Tyron Rd Charlotte.

Posted Mar 25, 2016
Construction on the road in front of the Hotel made entrance and exit difficult. I bought a steak to cook on the grill and could not light the grill. The lighter didn't work and the propane tank was empty. The manager changed the tank and lit the grill but you expect better from a quality hotel. The first night the dumpster was emptied at 2:30 AM, which woke me up. Although this location was convenient for where I was working, it is not an ideal location for comfort and safety.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2016 by Eric K., Hotel Management
Eddie, Thank you for taking time to review you stay at our hotel. I am sorry that you experience was not exceptional. Parts had been ordered for our grill but had unfortunately not arrived. The parts are now installed and the grill is in working order. Currently the hotel is scheduled to undergo a full renovation in the next 6 montha. This along with the completion of the light rail, which is currently under construction in the middle of the road at the front of the property, will make out hotel the premier destination in the university area of Charlotte.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: The staff is friendly.
Major long term road construction makes it difficult to get in and out of the parking lot. The other guests in my building were rude. One sat at the top of the stairs outside my door and was on her cell phone at all hours. The neighbors on the other side of my bed would start partying around midnight each night I was there. The hotel promotes being ecologically sensitive but the room maid washed my 1 glass in the dishwasher each morning. They don't want to wash towels but they wash a glass in a full dishwasher cycle.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2015 by Eric K, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Charlotte University Research Park. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. I have met with the staff and discussed these issues so the do not happen going further.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long Island, NY

Nice hotel close to all.

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Great location. Quiet neighborhood. Plenty to do nearby. Friendly staff. Will stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Roomy, friendly, close to restaurants

Posted Aug 22, 2015
I liked the place, complementary breakfast, close to transportation, supermarket, restaurants, mall, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Can't go wrong with Marriott Residence Inn. Nice rooms. Clean, well furnished, nice breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Convenient

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: This hotel had suites which included kitchens. Very helpful when staying a few days. As well, the hotel offered free full breakfast and free wifi.
Cons: The staff need to ensure that the rooms are thoroughly checked for problems, ie wet carpets, after people leave so issues can be addressed immediately
Location: Within 10 minutes of shopping, Charlotte Motor Speedway, NASCAR shops and tours and restaurants. Easily accessible from major highways.
The hotel was conveniently located for a variety of activities that could be accessed by vehicle. ie Charlotte Motor Speedway. Close to some eating options. Helpful, friendly staff. Our assigned room had a bathroom issue so they moved us to a different room and were fixing the first room. There were no issues when we requested a different room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastern NC

Location near I-85 and good retail services.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Quiet, friendly staff, good breakfast.
Cons: Some areas of the parking lot were populated by too narrow parking places and backing out of one required more than one turn.
Location: Location close to basic retail that I needed. I was on family business so, wasn't looking for entertainment.
Quiet room with good kitchen, TWC wasn't so great but I wasn't there to watch tv.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbia sc

Close to pnc

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Very nice room, locatio real close to just about everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Augusta

Great Location!!

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: location and room layout.
Cons: two sinks in the bath room area
Location: Centrally located hotel. fast food restaurants withing walking distance. Great dine in restaurants with 1 - 2 mi radius in either direction. Drug st
Morning breakfast very filling. Good coffee with flavored creamers. Variety of juices. Layout of room great for 3 -4 people. Love the quad suite idea - 4 rooms have a sitting area outside the door. That way if someone wants to stay up late, there is a cozy sitting area outside the room where they wont disturb those who wish to sleep. Love the kitchnette fully loaded with all things needed. Very spacious bathroom and very comfortable for 4 people.