Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

2.3 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Stuck In the Middle of Highway

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: There was some work going on to approve the appearance outside. Front desk clerk was helpful.
Cons: Rooms need updating starting with better lighting. Replace carpet.
Location: Right off of two highways which makes it easy to. There is nothing to do nearby. Stay here only for a place to sleep.
The hotel is right off the highway accessible in one direction only. There is no ability to walk to anything The parking area is small and some vehicles took up two spaces. Upon entering the room, there was a strange smell. The carpet needs to be cleaned or replaced. I discovered after walking barefoot the bottom of my feet were black. The lighting is inadequate and all lights had to be turned on to see properly. There is a microwave but it had to be disconnected after use or it would continue to beep. Towels were minimal and there was only one garbage can in the room. The room clock was filthy and not set. Television is old. The shower had new tiles put in which didn't reflect the rest of the room. The hotel is near train tracks and the trains would whistle at night.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Needed an inexpensive place to sleep

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Just that. Less than $100 and a quick cab ride from downtown
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent for the price

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: Nice comfortable bed, clean.
Not bad, some rooms are much better than others, stay in the back since it's close to the highway for piece and quiet. Much quieter that way and ask for a nice room since you "blog" about it to fellow travellers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western North Carolina

Nice hotel near a busy city

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: It was inexpensive and near where I needed to be. It was a comfortable room, and adequate for my needs. Pet friendly.
Cons: Ask people to quiet down after 10pm; there were people talking loudly outside my room at 2:30 am and later. More noticeable from highway.
Location: I was there for an educational workshop at the Discovery Place Education building, and enjoyed a quick visit to the Discovery Place down the block.
While there is not a lot of parking space, it was adequate for the number of people staying there. It is close to the city and near a main highway so the traffic was a little noisy, but the room was clean, comfortable and I appreciated that it did not smell of cigarette smoke. I have stayed at hotels before in designated non-smoking rooms, but they smelled as if they had been smoked in for a week solid before I arrived. I have asthma so the absence of cigarette smoke is essential to my heath. The hotel was a little difficult to spot from the highway, and along with the traffic noise, these were the only difficulties I had. The staff were friendly (those that I interacted with) and the room, though not spacious, was comfortable. I did not have my pet with me but this is a pet friendly hotel.
1 out of 5
by daytrip from Blacksburg, VA

Sketch!

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Its right next to the highway and there is a homeless/drunk guy knocking on my door. He was knocking for a good 2min saying "I love you"...but there was no desk number for me to call. Walls are thin and just horrible... didn't sleep a wink.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too close to interstate

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Way too much road noise coming from the interstate. Kept me awake all night
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap price for a cheap hotel.

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: Availability and closeness to the airport. Oh, and they had a microwave.
Cons: They could swank up the place just a tad.
Location: Virtually nothing to do nearby, and we didn't have a car.
It was about what we expected. Our connecting flight in Charlotte was canceled and so we just wanted a cheap place to stay for the night near the airport. Not the nicest place we've ever stayed in, but what do you expect? The price was low and quality was low. The woman at the front desk was nice, and the room was clean. This was in the middle of an uncommon snow bout, and the door was not sealed properly (probably because Charlotte is not used to having such cold weather), and so the cold air was coming in around the door, but we didn't care that much. We just stayed in bed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Calvin from TN

It was satisfactory

Posted Dec 30, 2013
The place was fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sleepless in Charlotte

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: It was close to the highway.
Cons: Room smell and safety.
Location: N/A
You get what you pay for. I guess in this day and age it is unrealistic to get a decent stay for under 60 dollars. The hotel is off of the highway which is good, but the sounds of the trucks, cars, etc. were too much. The room had a funny smell. The bed was ok., but if you have more than one person in the bed it will be a problem. I was alone and I didn't feel safe, so I didn't sleep well. I left early in the morning and I almost ran to my car to leave.
2 out of 5
by Joyce from New York, NY

Very good that it located next to the I-85.

Posted Jul 13, 2013
Pros: Next to I-85
It is a very cheap hotel. Not even one star ( Too far away from one star) which made us feel unsafe. We were so disappointed because we expect to stay at a 1 - 2 stars hotels as we bit on Expedia. No chair, no table in the room. It is so tiny room. The floor was dirty, we only walk there from the bed to the bathroom with bare feet. The feet all dirty. The room was old and everything was so simple. Breakfast with one choice - muffin,only one pc for guest. Coffee is there. Hot water with no tea bag. They were served in a small counter. No seats nor tables. No stores nor restaurants around. We stayed at Rodeway hotels in SC and OH. There were much much better.