Ratings based on 563 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte Douglas airport location

Last minute booking

Posted Feb 20, 2017
This was a last minute thing, I was on the road and tired needing to sleep. This was a nice
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sucked

Posted Dec 4, 2016
This place was a dump the photos were misleading this was a made up photo they have no business being on your website I'm not pleased at all
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 28, 2016
The sheets on the bed had cigarette burns inbthem and did not appear to have been changed from the last guest.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Meh

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
You get what you pay for, pretty dirty.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will NEVER be back here - AVOID!

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
If you can afford, timewise or financially, to avoid this motel, then do so and continue to shop around before spending your time here. I was able to secure one of the last reservations in the CLT airport area here due to much delayed flights, all other area hotels being sold out for some convention, and the airline being completely useless with respect to promised hotel vouchers. The reservation was made over the phone, so I didn't see any of the online reviews ahead of time and I desperately needed somewhere to go because CLT kicks stranded passengers out of the gate area overnight. Checking in with motel staff behind bulletproof glass was a hilarious welcome. Room was an absolute joke. Strangers' hair on my towels, dirty bathroom, extremely thin walls (I could hear everyone around me and outside), questionably clean sheets (thankful I didn't have a black light), and feeling so unsafe that I put the available low-quality furniture in front of my door and slept with my wallet. Impossible to sleep here given the cleanliness and safety concerns, so I headed back to the airport feeling more disgusting than when I had arrived a few hours before. Wholeheartedly thankful I wasn't robbed or attacked. Would much rather have slept in the unsecured part of the airport, as I'm sure it would have been cleaner despite it being open to the public. If you can avoid Royal Inn given your circumstances, by all means, DO. If not, please take care.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not clean

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
Horrible
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap and it's obvious why

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Staff was friendly but the room was not very clean whatsoever. There was hair left over in the bathroom in the sink and on the floor. There were stains on the wall etc. The shower head wasn't really a shower head at all as much as it was just a big opening for water to come out. Would not recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Urine on the walls. Hair in the sink. Horrible.

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
There were urine stains on the bathroom walls. There was facial hair in my sink. I asked them to change rooms and they told me they were fully booked although they were not. I WAS APPROACHED BY SOMEONE right outside of the property whom introduced himself and led me to the front office. He waited outside of the office for me to ask about why I was there. I avoided the question and walked up to my room a little unsure at that point. This person then called the motel (bc I wouldn't catogorize this place as a hotel) and asked to be transferred to my room WITH ONLY MY FIRST NAME. Instead of the motel asking for more information or calling me first they just transferred the call. I answered and when I heard it was the same guy I lost my sense of security. He was asking if I wanted to "hang out" ... I questioned the front desk about why they did that and expressed my concern-the lady was very rude and aggressive about it. So Now it's getting late and cold and I turn on the heater- it doesn't work. I call front desk, man answers and tells me that it does work... that the week prior hadn't been colder and no one complained. I asked him to come look at the room- he told me it was working and that I had It on the wrong setting. It didn't work... he then got very irritated and said "you can leave, we can't help you." ... at that point I was scared I would Be kidnapped or worse by my stalker. I just stayed put and eagerly left as soon as the sun was up. DO NOT STAY HERE.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels