Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

poor management

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Management has rules that benefit management's ease of operation at the expense of the guest experience. My wife and I stayed at the resort for three nights. We asked on our first day for spa services but the spa was booked up for all the 3 days of our stay. We enjoyed the pool area, however, food and beverage service to the pool was limited to spa guests only, and we were only hotel guests. We explained our dilemma without result. A few minutes later we saw a staff member pushing a towel cart by and asked her if we could get a bottle of champagne and carafe of orange juice. She said she would be happy to fill our order and did so in a couple of minutes with a spa menu. An hour passed and I called the manager on duty and explained the situation. He suggested I call room service for a menu. I suggested he call the spa for a server. We disagreed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
It was my birthday the day we arrived. My wife had made reservations at the Gallery restaurant and they had a personalized menu with my name on it. Everyone wished me a happy birthday. That was over the top
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Potomac, MD

A Luxury Hotel in a Family-Oriented Part of Town

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: The service is foremost on the list of what I liked about the Ballantyne - from complementary shoe shine to the daily turn-down service!
Cons: The In-Room Dining menu is not bad, just limited. (And skip the Tuna.)
Location: The hotel is surrounded by a business park and restaurants. Its a family-oreinted part of town.
I start this review with the one, minor complaint I have only because everything else about the Ballantyne Hotel is almost perfect. The In-Room Dining menu is limited, and please avoid the Tuna. The Burger is much better. Otherwise, from the Lobby Bar to the service to the amenities, this is just a wonderful place. I want to do more business in Charlotte to have more reasons to stay here.
5 out of 5
by Mary

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
service was excellent, accommodations were excellent, my only suggestion would be to have complimentary coffee. It felt a little cheap (nickel and dimish) to charge for each cup of coffee. They did offer free fruit infused water which would be nice if a coffee option were also available but alone made it feel like a cheap option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pre-Christmas parties and activities tested the service abilities of the Hotel. All in all the Hotel met the challenges of the large crowds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, United States of America

Elegant & Classy

Posted Nov 30, 2016
We stayed here for our wedding night. There were plenty of romance packages to add on. The room with a view option is definitely worth it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful with luxury service

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent getaway. We stayed here to attend a gala. Very clean, luxurious and the staff were all great. Highly recommend!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Nearby:If you like sports, American BlackFinn was a great sports bar. Brunch: recommend Terrace Cafe. Quick easy drive to uptown- downtown Charlotte
Wonderful hotel! Staff always warm and welcoming, despite being very busy with the travelers from the East coast during Hurricane Matthew. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Nice large bathtub and roomy separate shower. We had the grand deluxe room with balcony overlooking the golf course and fountain. We were able to leave our patio door open and enjoyed a nice fall breeze throughout our stay! Highly recommend and will return here again. I hope to use the spa on my next stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mt Pleasant, SC

Recommend

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Had a great impromptu stay due to Hurricane Matthew. Would return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent service

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
We were visiting for a wedding and chose this hotel due to its proximity to the venue. The hotel was comfortable, service was excellent and courteous in all areas. Room was very comfortable, clean and well appointed with the exception of our comforter which felt a bit lumpy. For the price we would have like a few more perks such as welcome drink or breakfast.