Ratings based on 516 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

This hotel did not honor my Expedia Reservation

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: I like the hotel, staff and location.
Cons: They can honor the reservations in the hotel.
Location: Walking distance to downtown activities
This hotel cancelled my reservation because they were oversold for Thursday Night football. I had this reservation booked for months prior to this night. The Dunhill personally called me the day of check in to confirm that I was coming because I had a late check in time. They did not indicate to me that there was a problem, however when I was at the airport Expedia called to inform me that I was "Walked / cancelled" I worked with Expedia for hours but there were no hotels in the city and I had not planned on renting a car. Because of The Dunhill not honoring my reservation I had to stay 20 minutes outside of town (a reservation I booked because Expedia was trying to book me in a 1 star hotel) and rent a car. I have stayed in this hotel many times and love the location, staff and charm. I came back on Friday to stay at the hotel for my remaining reservation, "because we have plenty of rooms." They did upgrade me one room class and gave me two free meals at the hotel restaurant. This was a nice gesture but did not make up for the added expense and stress this hotel caused me. BUT DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL UNLESS YOU DO IT DIRECTLY!!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Cozy and quaint

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Refreshing, super friendly staff. Nice quiet location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view of the streets in downtown Charlotte

Posted Nov 27, 2016
The hotel is very elegant and well appointed. The location is perfect as it is so close to everything. It is surrounded by great restaurants and many cultural activities. The beds were very comfortable and soft.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Great location, great hotel with character. right in the heart of uptown charlotte.
Cons: Faucet in shower would change from hot to cold, could use an upgrade to a temperature control unit
Location: Theaters and areas walking distance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coatesville, PA

Classy & Classic

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Charming - just charming.
Cons: a faint but inexplicable musty/damp smell in the guest rooms.
Location: Everything in Charlotte.
if you want an utterly predictable chain-hotel experience, fair enough. But if you want a wonderfully preserved and updated slice of a genteel past, try The Dunhill. Staff are over-the-top helpful, and the lobby is truly elegant and conducive to socializing or logging in and getting work done. Coffee and tea 24/7, and right in the heart of everything. It's a gem.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Dunhill never responded to email

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: small, cozy great location
Cons: Security the first nite we stayed there and no response to our email sent after coming home We had stayed here before with no problems
Location: lots to do in walking distance
We have stayed here before and for this trip no doubt to go back. Great, cozy, great location. On this past stay the first night girl at the evening desk seemed out of it. Not with it. That night around 12 1230 am....room across from us people came in...loud and thought ok going to have party people. It happens Then it turned into arguing fighting screams for help. Screams I was robbed!!I We were frantic thinking there would be gun fire. Called front desk....police came. The Story guy told police and front desk not accurate Appearantly room was a mess because next morning they were screwing things and fixing room up. My biggest disappointment was the Dunhill never approached us on this Others heard the same noise on the floor. My husband sent an email after we got home explaining what happened and our concern and we got no reply back. It has been 4 days. I am sincere saying this was bad. Second nite was fine and quiet because no one was in that room acroos from us. I am just surprised no response to our email Communication not good for that night or response to our email
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

Wonderful staff, great location

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, room
Cons: The bed and pillows were pretty uncomfortable, but the room itself was very nice.
Location: Wonderful location in the heart of a wonderful downtown. The 7th street market, Cellar at Dunwoody's and 4th ward were great!
Our stay was wonderful. The front desk and other staff were very helpful, incredibly friendly, and gave us a wonderful experience. Appiffany was just the best. The location was in walking distance of great restaurants, the 4th ward, and many other cool venues. We didn't have to drive anywhere!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from asheville, NC

Perfectly cute place!!

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The staff was wonderful, helpful and friendly.
Staff is AMAZING!!! We stayed to attend a sporting event. Location is 6 blocks from BOA Stadium, lots of restaurants. Loved it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location!

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on CheapTickets
Pros: Everything. The breakfast was awesome! Not your standard "continental breakfast."
Cons: Use Maxwell or Folger's coffee in place of Green Mountain in the rooms.
Location: The hotel is within walking distance of both the baseball and football stadiums, as well as most restaurants.
The front desk staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful with directions to restaurants and the football stadium. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Donald from Columbia

A perfect Saturday night

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful time at the Dunhill. The staff was very friendly, and the location was perfect for us!