Ratings based on 1,049 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really nice gym, in the heart of downtown.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Great location
Cons: Food Options
Location: Near convention center and stadiums
Large hotel. Newish. Large rooms. Great for business.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Guntram Merl, Hotel Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel. Our location is just one of the many great features our hotel has to offer our guests. We are convenient to many great attractions and restaurants within Uptown. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and ensuring that your next stay is just as great. Be well, Guntram Merl, Hotel Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

OUTRAGEOUS!!!!

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Good layout
Cons: Training and monitoring of the staff
I will never stay at this Westin again!!! Upon checking in at about 2:30 pm on Saturday, Feb. 4, we found that the bathroom sink would not drain. It was quite obvious that the maid had never reported a problem with the sink. I called Housekeeping, and was told that someone would be up to handle the issue. When the young man came, he removed a large glob of hair from the sink, and said that the problem was solved. Before he left, he said that he would call housekeeping and have someone sent up to sanitize the sink area. NO-ONE EVER CAME!! I called back about 2 hours later, and finally, someone arrived. Then, we noticed that the sink was stopped up AGAIN!!! I was extremely annoyed, but I didn't bother to have someone come to handle the issue again, because we had to go out. When we returned, we noticed that the bed had been made, and the trash emptied, but a large bag of trash was sitting in the middle of the floor!! The housekeeper had obviously left it there after emptying the waste cans, and perhaps the trash from other waste cans as well! DISGUSTING!!! Then, when my husband attempted to take a shower, we found a problem with the bathtub as well. Finally, because the design of the bathroom included the towel rack being placed over the toilet, he bumped his head when leaning over to obtain tissues from the holder on top of the toilet. I also found the young lady at the check-out desk to be less than polite! OVERALL, WE HAD A VERY BAD EXPERIENCE! NEVER AGAIN!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Guntram Merl, Hotel Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of The Westin Charlotte. I would like to offer my sincerest apologies regarding your most recent visit. Your experience is not the experience we strive to provide our guests. I have passed along your feedback to my team so that we may address these concerns in which you provided. Again, I apologize and please don't hesitate to contact the hotel and ask for myself should you need anything further. Be well, Guntram Merl, Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Decent hotel convenient to Uptown locations. Well appointed gym.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by Guntram Merl, Hotel Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review our vibrant property. I am delighted we had the opportunity to provide you with such an enjoyable experience. Our location allows our guests to access many great attractions and restaurants with just a few steps or a quick ride on the light rail. The gym is also a great feature we offer our guests and helps our guests to stay fit even when traveling. We will happily await your return on your next visit to the Queen City. Be well, Guntram Merl, Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LI, NY

Wonderful!

Posted Jan 30, 2017
When I first arrived I just knew it was going to be an awful experience because of the parking and previous guest reviews. GPS lead me to the parking deck instead of the front of the building for valet but once I figured out the elevator situation from garage to lobby everything turned itself around. The front desk staff was absolutely amazing, Mr. E (bellman) was kind and helpful. He greeted me several times throughout my stay and made sure I was settling in okay. The room was nicer than expected. I read reviews before my visit, they were pretty awful and I almost canceled my stay. I'm happy I didn't! The room was amazing the raindrop showerhead was a wonderful touch to make the bathroom feel more luxe. everyone from the bellman, lobby staff, foodrunner, and bartenders were amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Guntram Merl, Hotel Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you Alpajl for taking time to acknowledge and review our vibrant hotel. I am delighted to hear about your most recent experience and that the service experience is what you deserve. Our staff will be so proud to know they made such an incredible impression on you and that you rated them impeccable. We are very lucky to have Ewan and the lobby and bar staff as part of our Westin family. They truly strive to make each guest have an incredible experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and offering another enjoyable experience. Be well, Guntram Merl, Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Great Location
Nice and clean hotel. Walking distance to restaurants, bar and night life.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by Guntram Merl, Hotel Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for submitting your review of The Westin Charlotte. Our hotel is located in the heart of Uptown, convenient to many great attractions and restaurants for our guests to access. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and ensuring that your stay is just as enjoyable the next time. Be well, Guntram Merl, Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff and great accomodations

Posted Jan 4, 2017
I had a fantastic stay at The Weston. They provided excellent service during a very busy time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Guntram Merl, Hotel Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. Our staff will be proud to know they made such an incredible impression on you. They work hard and strive to satisfy each and every guest. We look forward to welcoming you back and ensuring that you have another enjoyable experience. Be well, Guntram Merl, Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Perfect location! The staff was incredible, the hotel was beautiful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Guntram Merl, Hotel Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience with us. Our beautiful hotel is located in the heart of uptown making it easily accessible to many great attractions and restaurants in the city. The staff will be delighted they made such an incredible impression on you. We will happily await your return on your next visit to the Queen City. Be well, Guntram Merl, Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, had to get microwave delivered to room

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Bed linens had stains
Location: Great location, I attended the game
Good experience. Great location. Friendly Staff. Unclean linens.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2016 by Guntram Merl, Hotel Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and sharing a review, as we appreciate your feedback. I understand your recent stay fell below a true Westin experience. Please contact the hotel and ask myself should you need anything further. We hope to host you again in the near future so that we may exceed your expectations. Be well, Guntram Merl, Hotel Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
I've stayed at the Charlotte Westin 5-6 times now while visiting my son and this was by far my worst visit. I was studying on Saturday morning at 9 am when I received a call that they would be changing out keys in the "afternoon" and that I would need to go by the desk with a photo ID to pick up a new one. I said that was fine as I planned to go out later to meet my son. Instead shortly after there was banging and loud talking outside my room. After a time I decided to take a shower and go to the gym since it was so noisy. I barely got dressed before they were banging on my door before 10 am to change my key out. My hair was sopping wet and I'm trying to dry it and finish getting ready practically tripping over the workmen. Then I had to wait while they called for the new key and it didn't work and sent for another key. They never instructed me how to use the key so I couldn't get out of the parking deck and had to pay CASH to get out to meet my son. This must have been a common complaint as my son came later to the hotel and the gate was up when he left. I complained to the workmen about this issue. I complained to the front desk and asked for someone to call me back. I complained IN PERSON to someone at the desk who looked at me and in the SMIRKIEST voice said she was so sorry I had an issue all the time with a blank stare and no offer to try to make things right. After I returned to the hotel later I spoke to a gal who did listen and did refund my parking fees for both day
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of The Westin Charlotte. I would like to offer my sincerest apologies regarding your most recent visit. I can understand your frustration and your past experience is not the experience we strive to provide. I hope you will return again in the future so that we may exceed your expectations and offer you a true Westin experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Stayed one night with my teenage daughter. Hotel is in a beautiful area with many things to do. The staff was nice and the room was clean and comfy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by Guntram Merl, Hotel Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review and acknowledge our vibrant hotel. I am delighted that you and your daughter had such an enjoyable time during your most recent stay with us. Our staff will be proud they made such an incredible impression on you as they work very hard to satisfy each and every guest. We look forward to welcoming you and your daughter back on your next visit to the Queen City. Be well, Guntram Merl, Hotel Manager