Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Alright hotel in a good location

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Many things listed as included were not; air conditioning and mini bar. Our room overlooked the bin filled court yard so we were woken up at 6:30-7:15 every morning by the bins being moved; very annoying! Although the location was very handy between two modes of public transport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Accessible, safe, affordable, and convenient.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Location and price. Clean, if small.
Cons: I think some of the apartments are full-time lodgers and they can be outdoors in the courtyard and very loud at night.
Location: Trains, subways, and buses either directly across or around either corner. Tons of restaurants and cafes, walking malls, etc.
Lobby staff was helpful yet unobtrusive. Door was locked late at night but they buzzed you in with no hassle. Lobby cooler stocked beer, wine, and soft drinks at very reasonable rates. My single room was tiny but manageable. TV small but worked well. I had no internet problems and could stream Netflix without interruptions. Free breakfast was the same daily but always fresh and plenty to eat
1 out of 5
by Faleh

Never Again!

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
1-Wrong reservation details+rates higher than advertised. 2-No elevator at ground level; 3-No instructions to use telephone; useless. 4-Email for telephone only; if you have two telephones, or an iPad, you are done. 5-Breakfasr poor : Ham+boiled eggs+cheese+ cornflex). 6-Staff know neither English nor German; only Russian It is less than a star. Who gave this hotel a three star level. !!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Hotel in Berlin!!!

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Cons: Everything
This property is run by a deceptive group of people who do not honor cancellations and misrepresent facts. The quality of the hotel property is stuck in the 70s with no visible renovations. No sound isolation AT ALL, so you do not have any secrets with other guests, hearing them taking showers, talking,- like in a call center. Would not recommend to my enemies! :-)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
Very good location with ease to all public transport and the Airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redditch,Worcs.

Good value.

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: See what I said in my experience area.
Cons: For the price paid,can't really think of any improvements.
Location: Try "Zum Hecht"(The Pike)pub.I was in danger of being known there as a regular!A good old-fashioned Berlin Pub.
Just returned from 6 night stay in Hotel Abendstern.Reception staff were polite and helpful.Bus,train and underground stations all very near so you can be in central Berlin in a few minutes,for a 2.70 Euro single ticket,or 7 Euros for all day travel.I walked everywhere as it is not really far from the hotel to the centre by foot.Single room was simple,clean and tidy and quite adequate for a single traveller.Breakfast provided cereals,rolls,cakes,cheese,eggs and sausages and although nothing fancy,again it was quite sufficient to start the day in a good way.The area has some good bars and restaurants,with a shopping area just round the corner.Hotel provides good,clean service at a very reasonable price.If you want more comfort.you will have to go elsewhere(and pay a lot more)but for a short holiday such as I had,it is ideal.If I am ever in Berlin again,I will stay in the Abendstern.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, small room

Posted Aug 10, 2016
The location of this hotel is good. It's near a U-Bahn station and lots of shopping is within walking distance. The room I got with one bed was very small. I would not recommend it for anyone bigger than average size as they may have problems negotiating the toilet facilities. The room was clean and it had a good bed. The plumbing was good. The internet was poor. It reminded me of dial up only worse. For a short stay it's tolerable. For more than a few days I think better options may be available. Only some of the staff speak English so communication with them can be a challenge if you do not speak German.
3 out of 5
by Ingrid A.

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Good Location

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: Quiet and clean
Cons: Manner of reception staff
Location: A lot of stores and restaurants. Just one stop away (subway or light rail) from Zoologischer Garten Center (one of four major centers in Berlin).
Very convenient location. Within 50 meters you can reach light rail or subway stations. Lot of stores and restaurant close-by. Just twenty five minutes away from TXL airport (subway U7 plus to bus X9).