Ratings based on 2,772 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Near Glasgow

Truly lovely hotel in a nice area

Posted Aug 17, 2017
From the moment we checked in to our check-out after 2 nights, we could find no fault with anything at this hotel. The staff were incredibly friendly yet professional, our room was spacious and very comfortable, and the amenities were first class. We thought the cocktail bar was the nicest we'd ever been in. We'll definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Friendly staff. Ideal location. Unfortunately, woken up by building work noise outside this time. Pool small but lovely. Room and bed comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: V nice rooms. Slippers and bathrobes provided
Cons: Would have been nice to have a double bed and not 2 singles pushed together
Location: Easy reach of most attractions, either walking or using transport with card provided
Lovely hotel. Great breakfast. Good location. Free travel pass provided.Nice pool. A great place to stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017 by GW, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for posting a fabulous five-star review of your stay at our Steigenberger Hotel Berlin. It is fantastic that you appreciated the hotels location as well as the facilities and services in the hotel. At the same time, I regret that you were allocated into a room with a typical German double bed with two mattresses. We offer different bed-types such as double beds with two mattresses, twin-beds and queen-size beds. As long as all bed-types are available, our receptionists are obliged to ask our guests for special wishes in regards to their preference in bed-types upon check-in. Obviously, in your case our team member did not follow this standard. I hereby ensure, that I will share your experience with our front office team in order to remind everyone how important the communication with our arriving guests is. I am looking forward to welcoming you back soon and remain with warm regards Gondra Wettley General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Welcoming hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Stayed fri to mon 2 boys in hotel bar on sunday were excellent very friendly and accomodating .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Reception with Attitude

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: My reception at this hotel totally coloured my views on everything else connected with it- I therefore cannot comment
Hotels may have star ratings but their real measure lies with how they make their guests feel. In my case I felt frustration, disappointment and embarrassment. Despite arriving after the 15:00 hours check in time in sweltering heat, I still had to wait an hour before my room was ready. During this wait I was given a voucher allowing me a free cocktail in the only bar open at that time. There may be some `history` between the reception and the bar as this voucher was rejected when I handed it to the bar staff and instantly returned to me- complete with reasons in perfect English on why they would not accept it. This refusal certainly frustrated and embarrassed the reception staff. The problem was, however, that it also frustrated and embarrassed me. On the fourth day of my stay I had to witness a stressed conversation between a room cleaner and one of the supervisory hotel staff. Witnessing unhappy staff is one thing, being caught in their cross-fire is another. A misguided school of Thought believes that excellence lies in having a Bell Captain, a separate desk for booking theatre tickets and Reception with Attitude. I disagree. Being made to feel welcome is the first and only sign of excellence. My reception at this hotel made me feel distinctly second class and totally coloured my opinions for the rest of my stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by GW, Hotel Management
Dear guest „d“ Thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing your impressions here on Expedia as well. As my colleague stated in the direct message via Expedia, we completely understand that it was a very inconvenient situation for you to wait for your room and we will do our very best to prevent this situation. However, I like to underline that this is happening in very rare cases only. Furthermore, I am devastated to learn that your invitation card for a complementary drink was rejected. Usually our service staff knows that our guests and especially those with a drink invitation always receive a very guest-minded service. Our colleague in the Berliner Stube should have been aware of the fact, that we gave reasons for complaint already (as you were presenting this card to him) and as a consequence he should have fulfilled your drink order without hesitation. As a consequence, we have already exchanged the wording of the card and have given trainings in regards to “Excellent situational guest service” to our staff in all gastronomical facilities in order to equalize and increase their state of knowledge and to encourage them to act flexible if guest wishes need to be fulfilled. At this point, I do not wish to miss the opportunity to apologize sincerely for the disappointment caused also here on Expedia. I can only hope that you will accept our apologies and that you will be our guest again at some time in the future. In the meantime, I wish you all the best and remain with kind regards Gondra Wettley General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Good location, family friendly , excellent breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by GW, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your great review following your recent stay with us. It is fantastic that you appreciated our service, the breakfast as well as the hotels location. I would be delighted to welcome you very soon again. In the meantime, all the best for you and your family. Warm regards Gondra Wettley General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Hotel close to station

Posted Jul 23, 2017
The hotel was in perfect location during my 3 day visit. It was in a walking distabce from one of main train stations, a meeting point for various city walks. The hotel staff was neither friendly nor unfriendly -- just doing their jobs.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perhaps the worst hotel I've stayed in..

Posted Jul 18, 2017
From check-in to check-out, the entire experience was painful, Ignored by bellboy and receptionist. When asking reception for restaurant recommendions, she advised that she does not 'eat out' so did not know any good restaurants. Completely unaccommodating breakfast manager who clearly has little people skills. If you're vegetarian like me, it was an absolute nightmare - room services' idea of vegetarian food is 'bread and chips'
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by GW, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for reviewing our hotel after your recent stay with us. It saddens me very much that you had such an unpleasant stay with us. Especially, I am devastated to learn that our staff had a disregardful attitude and did not communicate in a service-minded way. I ensure, a warm and individual communication is our highest priority which is also deep-seated in our corporate philosophy. As a consequence, I will take your experiences as an occasion to remind everyone on his/her self-reflection and to repeat the standards of a warm communication with our receptionists and the breakfast manager during the team meeting next week. In regards to the vegetarian options on our room service menu, I will share your feedback with our head chef in order to implement two or three vegetarian dishes as soon as possible. Hereby, I like to apologize for the inconveniences caused. I can only hope you will decide again for the Steigenberger Hotel Berlin and give us the chance to convince you of an improved service. Kind regards Gondra Wettley General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PUEBLA,MEXICO

EXCELLENT HOTEL !.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Location: NEAR THE BUSES... MAIN STREET ..
I LOVED THE HOTEL, VERY CONVENIENTLY LOCATED... EXCELLENT SERVICE.. GREAT EXPERIENCE...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by GW, Hotel Management
Dear Maria Thank you very much for your stay with us and for your fabulous review. It's great to hear that you especially appreciated our service quality and the location of the hotel in Berlins' City West. It would be our pleasure to welcome you very soon again. Best regards Gondra Wettley General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A mini-break in Berlin

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Highly Recommend the Steigenberger This was our fourth visit to Berlin in the last several years, and our second time staying at the Steigenberger. One could not ask for a better location! Bus 109 from the Tegel airport, get off at the Kurfurstendamm bus stop, and the hotel is a three minute walk around the corner. Very quiet and comfortable, with a very friendly and attentive staff. There are many restaurants on the same street as the hotel, and a Starbucks around the corner. There's also a huge Karstadt department store right across the road. As well, the hotel provides you with a Berlin public transit pass for free. This card costs €36.50/pp for 7 days. In our case (2 people) this would have been €73 added on to the cost of our visit - about $110 Canadian dollars. The transit card is good on all buses, trains, S-Bahn and U-Bahn systems. The hotel is very conveniently located, a five minute walk to the Zoo Station, from which you can connect to anything to get around Berlin. The hotel has a nice little outdoor seating area serving the wonderful "Berliner Kindl" beer. In short, we've become very well acquainted with Berlin in the last few years and now will think of staying nowhere else but Hotel Steigenberger.