Ratings based on 1,888 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017
The room is dated. The best point of the hotel is the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to UVA campus and all their activities.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
The staff was pleasant and helpful. They took time and with me gave directions to where I needed to go. I always stay at the cavalier on my trips to Charlottesville.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: parking, location.
Cons: Bathrooms
No fan in tiny bathroom. Shower did not work. This was a totally econ hotel experience for $183.00.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dc

Overpriced

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Very old building whose charm wears off fast. Wall in our room was dingy. There was an exposed piece of carpet in corner with small nails exposed, as well. Low ceilings. Maid haphazardly made beds - even my easy-going teenaged nieces were amazed at how messy it was. Finally, the breakfast was diminished by faulty machinery - waffle mix and syrup dispensers barely worked. Tables in dining room were left uncleaned. I'll never stay here again. Ridiculous
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mount Vernon, N.Y.

Nice for the Price

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff, the bed comfort, the breakfast and the coffee maker in the room.
Cons: The television reception and at least 1 staff member available to make beds and clean the room in the afternoon.
Location: I wouldn't know this as my sole purpose of visiting Virginia was to attend a wedding.
This hotel did meet my expectations having viewed it online prior to arriving. I was exhausted after traveling and pleased that my early morning arrival was not an issue. My room was just fine, the mattress and pillows were super comfortable, the room temperature was great and the full breakfast included was a definite plus.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: close to UVA, convenient
Cons: A/C, room somewhat dingy
Location: UVA, Monticello
horribly loud air conditioner, towel rack fell off its hook, beds not great. Breakfast only so-so.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, gross hotel.

Posted May 24, 2017
When I arrived there was an old toilet paper roll in the bathroom, an empty energy drink can crammed next to the bed, stain on sheets, hairs on sink, rust in shower, faucets didn't work, and curtains were broken.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle wa.

surprise!

Posted May 16, 2017
Hotel looked very cute and quaint in the photos. Once we arrived it's as if we were at a completely different hotel. From the bathroom counter literally coming off the wall and being proped up with a chair leg, paint pealing from the wall, random cords running all over. I could go on but I won't. This hotel was worth no more than $50/night. Positive was we felt pretty safe.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
Definitely ask for a room inside. Our first room outside smelled musty. Staff were very helpful and moved us to an inside room. Much better.
5 out of 5
by Nilay

Excellent stay

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
It was excellent. It might look a little dated from the outside, but I had a great time especially being so close to the university