Ratings based on 1,848 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent place to stay near UVA and Downtown.

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Free shuttle to the airport. Comfortable beds.
Cons: Airport shuttle at the evenings are needed.
Location: The hotel is located near the University of Virginia. Also, there is a free downtown trolley. That means is hotel is good for most anything in C'ville
Clean room. Comfortable beds. Also excellent view of the Carls Hill Field at the evenings. Free trolley nearby to Downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Michael Hammond, Hotel Management
Thanks for your positive comments. We hope you choose to stay with us again sometime. Michael Hammond General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff was very accommodating

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Needed to extend my staff. Staff was very accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Michael Hammond, Hotel Management
Thanks for your positive comments. We hope you choose to stay with us again sometime. Michael Hammond General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Stevie Nicks Show

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Location Cleanliness
Cons: Bathroom upgrade
Location: JPJ The Mall UVA
Check-in was easy, pleasant, rapid. Room was basic but very clean. Parking available on site. Would recommend to anyone for an overnight when attending a concert or event at John Paul Jones (JPJ) Arena
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Fort Ashby, WV

Close to University of Virginia Heart & Vascular C

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: It was a very simple good old fashion hotel with a very nice staff that was extremely helpful. I will stay there again on our next visit in May.
Cons: The Inn and the help met our needs. We were not looking for things to complain about or discredit the facility and I cant think of anything that could
Location: The Inn was located in a mixed use neighborhood almost in the center of the University of Virginia. We were on a mission. so things to do was not an
Our primary reason for being in Charlottesville, VA was for medical attention needed at the University of Virginia Medical Center, Heart and Vascular Clinic, which was a 10 minute ride from the Cavalier Inn. Served our purpose very well. I would recommend to anyone that was looking for reasonable accommodations at reasonable prices and a very helpful staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greensboro, NC

Convenient for book festival

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: CLEAN, good free breakfast. Close to everything. Free parking.
Cons: It needs some TLC. There is lots of caulk, etc. Fixtures, tub are old. Hot water issues in morning. Needs at least 1light that is good for reading
Location: I came for the book festival and to eat at Peter Changs - both very close.
This place is perfect and the price is right but you MUST know what you are getting before you get there. It is very dated and needs renovations BUT it is clean, close to everything, free parking. If you are fussy about everything being new and sparkly you will not like this place at all. I stayed for one night for the book festival. It was very close to everything I attended.
5 out of 5
by MyraAnne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad place, convenient location to UVa

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Great location (on UVa grounds basically), hotel is older but had significant renovations not long ago. Convenient to food, UVa etc. (In fact, I believe it is run by the university). A modest hot breakfast, nothing to write home about but not bad either. Has a pool too, outdoors though so was closed for the winter.
4 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Howard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cavalier Inn Charleston.

Posted Mar 22, 2017
The Cavalier Inn is conveniently located but could use some care. The showers could use some updating. The room had not been vacuumed under the beds and it also smelled like a smoking room although it was designated as a non-smoking room.