Ratings based on 1,877 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Value

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Centrally located, within walking distance of the University and shops/restaurants.
Location: Close to many shops and restaurants.
The more affordable hotels in Charlottesville tend to be dirty and uncomfortable, but not the Cavalier Inn. It's clean, up-to-date and offers a decent breakfast for its guests. It's also very accessible from the highway, and is close to the University.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

At least it was close to UVA

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Was rudely greeted by the staff upon check-in. Hallways were extremely hot. Elevators very slow. Breakfast almost completely gone and dining room messy both mornings at 7 am. Shower pressure low and temperature would not stay hot. Door to the outside did not close completely.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Free Shuttle Unavailable Weekends: Bait & Switch!

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was good and the elevators were still in working order.
Cons: Renovate the hotel so that it looks like a nice campus inn rather than a dilapidated, outdated motel dating back to the Eisenhower Administration!
Location: Lovely UVA campus, with a wide array of college town restaurants.
I booked this hotel because of its proximity to the UVA campus and its promise of a "free airport shuttle" featured prominently on both the Expedia and Hotel websites, as well as on Expedia's booking confirmation. After emailing the hotel twice via Expedia's "Manage Booking" option to schedule the airport pick-up time and weeks later to remind the staff of my Saturday arrival, I was only told upon arrival at CHO airport that "the shuttle doesn't runs on weekends." On the plus side, the hotel is within walking distance of campus for those who love to walk. Moreover, its breakfast is decent. The hotel itself, however, is very run-down, with huge stains on the carpeting (over one square foot in places like the elevator). The description and website photos make this hotel look somewhat classy, but perhaps the only thing that's a bit upscale is the facility's price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colonial Beach VA

Affordable and convenient to UVA & Hospital

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Location, bedding, parking, pool.
Cons: The shower faucet didn't work properly.
Location: UVA, Hospital, Restaurants, Shopping, Sightseeing.
Charming older hotel near UVA, UVA Medical Facilities, and great restaurants. Free parking, nice pool, excellent bedding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Great location

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Very good for the price. It's adequate and clean. Breakfast is great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Great location, but a little worn out

Posted Jul 17, 2017
If you want to stay within walking distance of UVa and not spend a bundle, Cav Inn is fine. The hotel is slated to be torn down at some point, so it's starting to feel a little worn out. While free, breakfast is pretty limited and the staff needed reminders to replenish the plastic plates and coffee. Breakfast offerings are basic, but it's super convenient. Room is fine and quiet on the parking lot side, but pillows were hard. This is a decent basic place to stay and its convenience trumps amenities found elsewhere. Great price and not having to drive around Cville in summer made it worth it for us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017
The room is dated. The best point of the hotel is the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to UVA campus and all their activities.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
The staff was pleasant and helpful. They took time and with me gave directions to where I needed to go. I always stay at the cavalier on my trips to Charlottesville.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: parking, location.
Cons: Bathrooms
No fan in tiny bathroom. Shower did not work. This was a totally econ hotel experience for $183.00.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dc

Overpriced

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Very old building whose charm wears off fast. Wall in our room was dingy. There was an exposed piece of carpet in corner with small nails exposed, as well. Low ceilings. Maid haphazardly made beds - even my easy-going teenaged nieces were amazed at how messy it was. Finally, the breakfast was diminished by faulty machinery - waffle mix and syrup dispensers barely worked. Tables in dining room were left uncleaned. I'll never stay here again. Ridiculous