Ratings based on 497 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from WV

close to UVA and shopping

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: good location nice breakfast
Cons: wifi is hopeless - keeps dropping out
Location: close to UVA and shopping
useful for UVA but be aware that it is used by UVA to place teams etc
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very convenient to University of Virginia.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Nice hotel. Lobby and rooms one step above hotels in this price range. Decent breakfast options including hot items and waffle maker. Room was nice but room heater kept making a terrible noise all night (almost like a truck engine running) which disturbed our sleep. Told the desk clerk about it but only response was they would let maintenance know.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

an average hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: just convenient to my alma mater
Cons: the heater came on every few mins with min or two of continues clicking noise and woke me up tntc times throughout the night.
Location: stadium,university, cafe,stores,etc.
I only stayed the second night though paid for two due to an obligation that developed. I requested to check out a little later, I was hoping to extend my departure to noon(one hour extension),however, it was denied stating housekeepers were too busy getting ready for the day's guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Uncomfortable bed, security issues

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Someone tried coming in my room at night. Luckily inside lock stopped them. Still can't figure out how someone could get key card access. Either inside job or they have major security flaws. Read other reviews of people missing items in last couple of weeks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to UVA Medical Center

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: affordable
pleased to find an affordable hotel in a good location. Nothing fancy but more than adequate for the price
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Surprisingly Filthy!

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Proximity to Grounds, that it's only good feature
Cons: I was suggest start with a good cleaning!
The Cavalier has sunken to a new low, for a Foundation property. The room was filthy dirty, there was mold in the bathroom and human hair in the shower from previous guest. Linen service was irregular and the staff was indifferent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay for Parents Of UVA students

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Very close to grounds. Easy to reach on foot. Easy in/out parking. Lovely lobby. Rooms are clean and very adequate for a good night's sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Rooms on outside
Location: Terrific location! Very close to campus and also Barracks shopping & restaurants
It's a friendly and very pleasant environment. We have stayed here several times and find is perfectly acceptable. Parking is available & very convenient
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Mold, dirty, cob webs.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
The title says it all. I was first checked into a room that was not ready and still needed to be cleaned. Then after that the next room I ended up in had a moldy shower curtain, cob webs in the corners, and the walls were so gross and needed to be wiped down. The staff was nice and said that the manager would call. Still waiting for that call.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Location: If you were in town to do things associated with the university the location is prime. Dining facilities are close by and quite varied.
The room was quite comfortable. All linens were immaculate and the housekeeping staff did a super job. The breakfast was excellent. Overall, couldn't have asked for a better place to stay.