Ratings based on 1,675 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice older hotel near UVA medical center

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: near UVA Medical Center
Very cozy room, great breakfast buffet. Staff was outstanding
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from HERNDON VA

It wasn't built yesterday.

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location.
The Cavalier Inn is a 1950's motel in a perfect location that has attempted to keep up with the times with a university renovation budget. Better than a dorm room, but not the Ritz Carlton. The Cavalier Inn is a great place to stay if you want to walk to your kids on-campus performances.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and Friendly

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Always enjoy staying there, the staff make you feel like your staying with Friends.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from syracuse, ny

Disgusting—checked out after 5 min

Posted Dec 3, 2017
This was the most disgusting hotel I have ever checked in to. I paid $173/night through Expedia and the couple we were traveling with paid $203 through the hotel. The stench of body odor in the lobby was gagging. The rooms were dirty and so old. The only way to bring this place back would be to demolish it and start all over again. We are here to visit UVA and it is a disgrace that this is the hotel on campus. We lasted five minutes, checked out and checked into the Hyatt Place a few miles away. The Hyatt is a palace by comparison. I booked Hyatt through Expedia, as well. I am hopeful that Expedia will provide me with a refund for the Cavalier booking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston, WV

Good value

Posted Nov 29, 2017
- Clean - Convenient location - Nice staff - Quiet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Excellent location to uva and jpj stadium is in walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Quick and efficient check in. Room was simple but clean and had all of the amenities I required.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice older hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Pros: Great location, good price.
Location: Across the street from the UVA campus and just a few minutes from the downtown pedestrian mall with great shopping, restaurants, bars, entertainment.
The Cavalier Inn is a great value for the price. It's older but nicely updated, and perfectly located for visiting the University of Virginia and wonderful nearby downtown shopping and restaurants. Has plenty of parking, including an underground parking garage with an elevator to the rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cnnecticut

Not clean and mattress was the worst ever,

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Terrible experience with and facility. Not clean and run down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to campus

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Comfortable rooms
Location: Very close to Uva campus and downtown area, lots of good restaurants to chose from
Very friendly staff and great location to the university. Very short walk to downtown mall and to great restaurants. Would stay there again and would recommend to friends.