Ratings based on 793 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Pricey for what it is.....

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Check in was great, they worked with us and got us in a room early. We were heading to baseball game. However, the price fornthe night was extremely high at over 300.00. Breakfast was below average. Bathrooms suoer old. Again toooo much money for a old room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from st Louis MO

Dirty stairways

Posted Sep 28, 2017
You have to use the stairs because there is no elevator. Carpeted stairs were not vacuumed and covered with catsup spills. Catsup still there next day. hot hallways with no a/c.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville Va

Don't stay

Posted Sep 24, 2017
The room was dirty. Had to be moved to another room which was better. The hallways felt like a sauna along with them having a bad smell. I wouldn't recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2017
room was surprisingly clean and fresh considering what i feared as a result of the dirty and very smelly hallways and stairways...i really had no problem with the room so i guess for the decent rate and the proximity to highways you might consider it
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport News, VA

Close to wineries and Monticello but not 1st choic

Posted Sep 18, 2017
We came for a wedding - that was a little further from town. We wanted to stay close to Monticello and some wineries. The location and price was great, although the walls seemed paper thin and could hear about everything! Also, this hotel has no elevator and the stairs up to 2nd floor were tucked away and not off the library which was a little inconvenient
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Bummer

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: location.
Cons: Many things.
Location: Good variety of eating places
Disappointing. Dingy. Understaffed. No elevator. Doubtful it is legal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location for short trip to Richmond

Posted Aug 24, 2017
The check in manager was very pleasant, and easy to work with. The hotel and rooms are showing their age a little, but still not bad. The room I was given had been cleaned, but you could tell the guest had not yet checked out, because the coffee pot had been used and tip change was still on the dresser.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, KY

Clean and accommodating

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: I liked its easy access to main roads and friendly service and breakfast.
Location: Monticello is nearby. So was Highland and the University of Virginia. We ate at the Tip Top. It was fast, friendly and the food was great.
The staff was most courteous with directions and helpful hints about area attractions and places to dine. The breakfasts were wonderful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, but nothing fancy.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Cons: PLEASE PUT A NON-SLIP MATT DOWN IN THE BATH/SHOWERS. Both times I have stayed at least 3 people in our parties have slipped in the bath tubs.
We stayed here after our rafting adventure. This was actually the second time that we have stayed at this hotel and it works for just a night. The hotel is conveniently located near the interstate so if you need a place right off the road this is the place for you. The rooms are decent, there really isn't anything special about them. I have not been concerned about cleanliness either time I have stayed, it is more just about updates. The only item on the breakfast bar that I ate was the waffle. I can never understand why hotels that offer breakfast don't just spend a little more to offer better food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Room not cleaned during 2 day visit. Laupit of hotel is awkward