Ratings based on 449 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Smithfield VA

Wonderful Hotel while in CVille

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom and bedding a bit outdates
Location: UVA, many malls
My whole family truly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel. It has a few areas inside the rooms to be updated but overall location, ease of check in and out was excellent and a wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice hotel with a great view.....

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Nice location set away from the university and Monticello. Pleasant staff and a great view of the mountains. Has a restaurant and a nice pool.
Location: Set on a major road in close proximity to many chain restaurants, mall shopping, the university, and a short drive away from Monticello.
Arrived to find the UVA marching band staying/practicing on site for summer band camp - that's a lot of kids. Given the number of people I thought the whole stay would be ruined - noisy and busy, but this was not the case Hotel was so very quiet - testament to both the maturity of the band and the construction of the hotel. Arrived at check in to find warm cookies at the front desk - so very nice after a long trip on the road. Employees were all accommodating and pleasant. Definitely a nice place to stay if you are passing through or have business in the Charlottesville area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2016
The breakfast is excellent! We recommend the omelet station.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I've had better

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Close to downtown.
Cons: Room cleanliness and the hot water in the showers
The hotel is in a convenient location within close proximity to many restaurants & shopping centers (Walmart, Belk, Sears, SAMs club). Friendly staff and a beautiful lobby with an upscale restaurant/bar inside. The room was spacious, but one of the beds had a foul odor coming from the area where you lay your heads. This wasn't a huge deal, as I just slept in the other bed and let the staff know @ checkout. My biggest turn off was that the night I checked in and the following morning when I showered, there was no hot water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, VA

Great staff, excellent amenities.

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Aside from the great service we received from staff, the hotel upgraded us to the executive floor on our anniversary weekend. Great experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampton, VA

Pleasant stay, pool not so great.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Comfortable and quiet. The hotel was busy, but it didn't feel "busy."
Cons: pool area cleanliness and temperature control.
Location: The Doubletree is pretty much the northernmost hotel in the metro Charlottesville area. It's about a 15 minute drive to the downtown area and UVA.
This is a repeat visit for us. Usually travel to the Charlottesville area for quick family trips / excursions. We have stayed here before. First time back to this specific hotel in several years. The hotel was packed upon arrival for a Saturday afternoon but it didn't fell overly busy. Check in was a breeze. Parked, checked in, and in our room within 15 minutes. We stayed on the executive level. Definitely appreciated the amenities. The floor was nice and quiet. Rooms were spacious and the comfort lounge was a plus! The only knock on the property was the pool area. My son was really looking forward to swimming. Especially when the weather caused us to shift plans and stay in for a few hours. The pool was much colder than expected for an indoor pool. We didn't stay in very long. I heard others complaining of the same issue. The hot tub was comfortable but smelled like boiled meat.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Carpet Odor

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: warm cookies!
Cons: Clean the carpet
Carpet smelled like some one or some dog had urinated on it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaufort

Convenient Location

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Pros: Restaurant and Bar were good after a long hard day.
The hotel provided a convenient location for our activities while in Charlottesville..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Totally disappointing for a Doubletree Hilton!

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: At least the cookies were good.
Cons: I already answered this question in a previous survey.
Location: Shop for a new car.
It took 35 minutes just to check into the hotel. There were no carts available or anyone even in site to help with luggage. One of two elevators was broken so it took 20 minutes to get to our room. A family member was not able to use steps due to health reason and our luggage was to heavy. It took another 16 minutes to get down the elevator.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Complimentary breakfast

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Well there was nothing in the breakfast room barring some apples and craneberry juice!