Ratings based on 550 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
Very prompt response at the front desk; accommodated our early checkin. Friendly. Good location. No frills, but comfortable. I'd stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Al

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More cons than pros, but you get what you pay for

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: The bed was relatively comfortable; the room appeared to be clean; the refrigerator worked; there are good restaurants within walking distance; the staff was friendly Cons: There was a terrible smell in the room and I had to leave the door open for an hour to tolerate the room with the door closed; the internet network didn't work and I was on the phone with technical support for almost an hour; the room phone was unplugged and when I plugged it in, there was loud crackling on the line; the coffee maker was not plugged in and the cord would not reach the closest outlet so I had to move it to the bathroom outlet to make coffee; the hair dryer had an electrical short and I had to jiggle the plug repeatedly to make it work; there is a hotel across the street that welcomes truckers who backed their trucks into the parking lot in the evening setting off their backing up warning (beep, beep, beep) If you can tolerate the cons, then it's okay for a place to sleep, but don't expect anything but a bed and bathroom
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loud

Posted May 20, 2017
A/C unit worked poorly and very loud. We were able to hear every step the people in room above us made all night. Both reasons for poor sleep. Staff was nice, but unable to fix the ac unit. The room was inexpensive compared to other hotels and I did not expect 5 star but was disappointed in the lack of quality in the basics of a hotel room.
3 out of 5
by Sandra

Good choice for a basic no frills hotel

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect location for exploring the area on a budget; close to everything/easy access to roads. Rooms were clean, wifi worked. A little noisy at night. Breakfast not so great.
4 out of 5
by Sarah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Old, run down motel with tight parking conditions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean but in Disrepair

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Price
Cons: Repairs are needed especially to the main door for security.
Location: Close to University of Virginia, restaurants and shopping.
I do have to agree with many postings. The staff is friendly and the hotel is kept clean. Rooms are also large. However, the hotel in general is in disrepair. Our door security guard was missing the catch making it unusable. The only lock that could be engaged was the deadbolt. This is a hotel where the door opens directly to the outside which may make some who stay at this hotel feel unsafe without working security hardware. Worn carpet, cracked tiles, slow draining sink were also seen in our room. In general, the price is good, but the hotel needs work. If I had paid more for this hotel, the rating would have been downgraded.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

EconoLodge N. Charlottesville, VA

Posted Apr 25, 2017
When I arrived around 2:30 PM I was greeted by the Manager who was very difficult to understand because of poor English. Then I had to produce a driver's license which he perused for the longest time. I felt like a suspect rather than a guest. No smiles--Nothing. When I got to my room on the upper level..it appeared to be clean and comfortable however upon closer inspection I found that the lavatory was dirty which was offputting causing me to question the cleanliness of the entire room. House keeping personnel quite nice but when I sat on the edge of the bed..I was shocked to find that the mattress on the right side was completely broken down. The left side of the bed was somewhat better so I found some comfort in the middle. The mattress needed to be replaced which is what I told management. In short..I'll never book EonoLodge again.
5 out of 5
by gina

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
very nice place very reasonable price.