Ratings based on 348 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
for Getaway With Friends
by William from Harrisburg PA

You get what you pay for...?

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
When I arrived to the hotel our first room had flies coming out of the drain in the sink. The room they moved us to had a fridge that hadn't been cleaned out by the previous guest or housekeeping, it was gross! The microwave in the room had been destroyed by the previous guest as well. The hotel manager apologized profusely and replaced both appliances. The beds were really comfy at least....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap place to get some sleep for the night.

Posted Aug 2, 2015
You get way you pay for, which isn't much. I made a last minute reservation just needing a place to get some sleep for the night. Lady at the desk was very friendly, but the room didn't feel very clean.
5 out of 5
for Families
by Md. Abdul from Alexandria, VA

Posted Jul 30, 2015 on Hotels
Enjoy stayed this hotel
3 out of 5
for Families
by Gian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Good value for what they charged. Not the Ritz

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: Stopper for the shower missing
Location: In the expensive city of Charlottesville. Somewhat hard to find
Needed a place just to crash for the night. Room clean, pictures on the wall, bed comfortable, staff courteous and bed comfortable. And the price was right. This is definitely where I would stay when traveling by myself
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brevard, NC

One of several

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Cons: The motel needs a major overhaul.
Location: The location is right off the highway, easy to get to and there is a rather good steakhouse almost next door - within walking distance.
The Econo Lodge North in Charlottesville is on a block with several other motels. We found the motel barely acceptable. The room probably was clean, but didn't appear to be and everything about it did not feel economical, rather it felt 'cheap.' Probably any of the other motels immediately across the street would have been a better option. The sheets were scratchy, making the bed uncomfortable. We chose not to use the bathtub/shower and did not even bother with the continental breakfast.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville, CA

Great stay for the pay

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The decor is a bit dated, but I wasn't there to look at a room. I was there for a good bed and place to shower, which this hotel provides for a good price.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Clean motel close to UVA

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Staff was friendly. Room is clean and spacious. I was impressed about the new Thomasville furniture. There were no stop in the sink and bathtub. But I'm happy with what I got because of the good price and convenient location.
1 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by Lori from Vinton, VA

You give econolodge a bad name

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel was pretty bad in so many ways. The parking lot was cramped and hard to get in and out of. In addition, it's hard to get on 29 because there's no light from 29 to the hotel entrance. Also, random people always seemed to be hanging out in the hotel parking lot, especially at night, sometimes blocking spaces. The wifi didn't work. There aren't enough outlets to plug in more than one or two things. My TV's only got reception on a few channels. The rest looked like they were coming in via rabbit ears from 1984. The hotel smelled bad. Even my clothes that I left out in the hotel smelled bad from being in the room. The air conditioning or maybe it was the light fixture made a loud noise. It was old and run-down. The hotel staff didn't ask how my stay was. The person who cleaned my room turned the AC off, so it was hot when I got back late usually since I had to go to a coffee shop to use the wifi. There are many other better cheaper hotels including the Excel Inn and even, believe it or not, the Super 8. This might just be the worst hotel in Charlottesville. If not, it's definitely in the running. I will never stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by wilmy

Good Hotel to have a nice place to sleep

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
I really like that fact that we could check in a late as we wanted