Ratings based on 525 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Old, run down motel with tight parking conditions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean but in Disrepair

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Price
Cons: Repairs are needed especially to the main door for security.
Location: Close to University of Virginia, restaurants and shopping.
I do have to agree with many postings. The staff is friendly and the hotel is kept clean. Rooms are also large. However, the hotel in general is in disrepair. Our door security guard was missing the catch making it unusable. The only lock that could be engaged was the deadbolt. This is a hotel where the door opens directly to the outside which may make some who stay at this hotel feel unsafe without working security hardware. Worn carpet, cracked tiles, slow draining sink were also seen in our room. In general, the price is good, but the hotel needs work. If I had paid more for this hotel, the rating would have been downgraded.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

EconoLodge N. Charlottesville, VA

Posted Apr 25, 2017
When I arrived around 2:30 PM I was greeted by the Manager who was very difficult to understand because of poor English. Then I had to produce a driver's license which he perused for the longest time. I felt like a suspect rather than a guest. No smiles--Nothing. When I got to my room on the upper level..it appeared to be clean and comfortable however upon closer inspection I found that the lavatory was dirty which was offputting causing me to question the cleanliness of the entire room. House keeping personnel quite nice but when I sat on the edge of the bed..I was shocked to find that the mattress on the right side was completely broken down. The left side of the bed was somewhat better so I found some comfort in the middle. The mattress needed to be replaced which is what I told management. In short..I'll never book EonoLodge again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Accommodating staff

Posted Feb 19, 2017
My college club volleyball team rented three rooms for the night before a tournament at UVA. We arrived at Econo Lodge North, and the staff members at the front desk informed us that one of the rooms had incurred some water damage and couldn't be used. The manager then informed us that she also runs the Red Roof Inn across the street, and generously offered us three side-by-side rooms in the Red Roof Inn (which had better rooms and breakfast). They provided amazing service at the last minute, and we had a pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
by Catharine

Nice clean room

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
Nice CLEAN room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Cheap motel for one night. Could be better heater it was cold. Despite setting the heater to 75.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to shopping, eating

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Staff is pleasant. They are updating the rooms. Microwave and refrigerator could be better, but they are new, could work more efficiently.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable. Needed a decent place for a night near the University. Will stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reasonably priced. Nice stay.

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
The room was nice. The area was very blue collar, ( taco trucks, and work trucks out front ). If you're looking for luxury, this is not the place. If you want a clean, decent place to stay for a few days, there's nothing wrong with this motel. Price was very reasonable. Breakfast was not bad. Not many choices, but for a cheap motel, I was pleased with the food. Staff was nice. Bathroom had been nicely renovated. Overall, no complaints.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels