Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by E Becky

Good location Watch the "non" smoking

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
I specifically asked for a non-smoking room. On check in, the clerk went ahead to "make sure the room was ready". My daughter and I followed with our overnight cases, laughing & gagging at the ashtray stench of the hall way. Story short...left belongings,turned on heater unit & went to dinner around 5:30 pm. We came back at 11:00pm to a horrific unbearable situation. Check-in guy must have sprayed an Oder neutralizing spray prior to us actually entering the room. A second employee went back to see if he could detect the smell, then all 4 of us went back into to the room which they still insisted was "smoke free". The 2 employees could not deny the cigarette smoke & we finally were moved into a decent room.Midnight & the drama involved to get what I had paid for & requested at the initial reservation is not acceptable. Maybe because there was no "man" ? in our party?
5 out of 5
by Brook

Excel Inn Review

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Good hotel for the price and area!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WV

small but close to shopping

Posted Jan 23, 2017
be aware that you can book through expedia but you will be paying at the hotel - clean but fairly small room which had a microwave and fridge but no coffee making facilities (and the coffee machine in the breakfast room wasn't working either. Comfortable beds with good linens
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burke, VA

Good hotel for the price

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Having a microwave and fridge in the room was very nice! Outlets EVERYWHERE, including USB by the beds, very convenient! Also, breakfast was very nice
Cons: Try not to use stained towels, that's a little unsettling.
Location: Plenty of shopping right down the road, about a ten minute walk away. Cheap food available, grocery, CVS, clothes, etc.
I only had a couple complaints. The hotel did not provide liquid handsoap, only tiny cakes of bar soap. Without getting into "too much information" territory, I'll just say we really needed handsoap. Bar soap is unsanitary. Luckily the hotel is situated within walking distance of a mall, so this was not a disaster. Another thing was that the bathroom was freezing cold, even with the heater on high and the door open (they're all the way across the room from each other and blocked by the beds), possibly there was a leak in the window. The heater was very loud. Towels were stained and very rough... but I wasn't really expecting luxury so that was all right. Also there was no cable in the room as promised... but that's okay because we don't watch TV.
5 out of 5
by bernard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty good stay.

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
Better than expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable

Posted Jan 5, 2017
This isn't a fancy place. It has some old carpet and some things that maybe aren't the nicest. But it's clean and serves as a good place for a temporary stay.
4 out of 5
by Glen

Great location, great price, decent hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was fine. Food was a bit limited, but for the price everything was as it should have been.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
Cheap, comfortable and quiet. Worked for me