Ratings based on 365 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

good for a night

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Good hotel for a night, especially if you're going to a concert on campus as it's just a 5-10 minute easy walk. But the hotel is set up strangely and the staff doesn't give you a lot of info. Our room ended up being in a basement area and it took us several minutes to find it. The room's layout was strange but adequate and clean. Price-wise, compared to other hotels in the area, it was adequate and met our needs for a night. There was supposed to be free breakfast but we were unsure where to even find it because there is really a lobby, just a check in room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Close to UVA, breakfast was good and plenty okkkkkkkkkk
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from near Lynchburg, VA

Good price; can walk to JPJ Arena; no pay parking.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Location great. Room clean and breakfast plentiful. Bathroom had NO where to hang towels and washcloths other than over the shower rod. Needs at least two towel rods installed. We did not even use the shower but we still needed somewhere to hang wet cloths and towels!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to John Paul Jones arena

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Needed a place to stay after a concert at the arena, easy walk to the venue, close restaurants. Hotel staff friendly. Just a basic motel. Don't expect more than that, but if you need a cheapish place to stay while going to an event at the arena, priceless.
2 out of 5
by E Becky

Good location Watch the "non" smoking

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
I specifically asked for a non-smoking room. On check in, the clerk went ahead to "make sure the room was ready". My daughter and I followed with our overnight cases, laughing & gagging at the ashtray stench of the hall way. Story short...left belongings,turned on heater unit & went to dinner around 5:30 pm. We came back at 11:00pm to a horrific unbearable situation. Check-in guy must have sprayed an Oder neutralizing spray prior to us actually entering the room. A second employee went back to see if he could detect the smell, then all 4 of us went back into to the room which they still insisted was "smoke free". The 2 employees could not deny the cigarette smoke & we finally were moved into a decent room.Midnight & the drama involved to get what I had paid for & requested at the initial reservation is not acceptable. Maybe because there was no "man" ? in our party?
5 out of 5
by Brook

Excel Inn Review

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Good hotel for the price and area!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WV

small but close to shopping

Posted Jan 23, 2017
be aware that you can book through expedia but you will be paying at the hotel - clean but fairly small room which had a microwave and fridge but no coffee making facilities (and the coffee machine in the breakfast room wasn't working either. Comfortable beds with good linens
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burke, VA

Good hotel for the price

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Having a microwave and fridge in the room was very nice! Outlets EVERYWHERE, including USB by the beds, very convenient! Also, breakfast was very nice
Cons: Try not to use stained towels, that's a little unsettling.
Location: Plenty of shopping right down the road, about a ten minute walk away. Cheap food available, grocery, CVS, clothes, etc.
I only had a couple complaints. The hotel did not provide liquid handsoap, only tiny cakes of bar soap. Without getting into "too much information" territory, I'll just say we really needed handsoap. Bar soap is unsanitary. Luckily the hotel is situated within walking distance of a mall, so this was not a disaster. Another thing was that the bathroom was freezing cold, even with the heater on high and the door open (they're all the way across the room from each other and blocked by the beds), possibly there was a leak in the window. The heater was very loud. Towels were stained and very rough... but I wasn't really expecting luxury so that was all right. Also there was no cable in the room as promised... but that's okay because we don't watch TV.
5 out of 5
by bernard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels