Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from McILhaney, PA

Adequate hotel, close to university activities

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: Clean room, great shower, friendly staff, hot tea and coffee.
Cons: Vanity or counterspace in bathroom and towel bar or hook(s) for towels.
Location: Very close to downtown, near university and university activities, close to many stores, shops, restaurants, within walking distance of many things!
Our hotel was in town, close to stores, restaurants, and university. The room was sparsely decorated, with no bathroom vanity, older furniture, but clean and adequate for us. The shower was great! The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. We had to pay by credit card, as they did not accept cash. The breakfast was alright, nothing really special, but it was included with the price of the room, and helped us get off to a good start for each day. We also enjoyed the coffee and hot tea, along with a microwave and computer, located near the office. Our main complaint would have to be with the bathroom. It seemed fairly new and very clean, but there was no place to put the towels, nowhere to even hang them up on a hook, and there was no place to put our toiletries. Overall, decent/adequate hotel for our short stay in Charlottesville.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

Excellent location- hotel fine for a night.

Posted Jan 19, 2016
This hotel has an excellent location and good curb appeal. The rooms are small. No frills bathroom ( no racks or counter). No extra blankets and was somewhat drafty since it was crazy cold out. This place is fine if you are on a budget and the location is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful experience

Posted Jan 16, 2016
We used this hotel while visiting a sick relative and found it to be an excellent value! We will definitely be back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Posted Jan 16, 2016
I offer constructive criticism, but I very much liked my stay there overall. The hair dryer didn't work and it was located such as to make it impossible to use the outlets for my own dryer. Several outlets didn't work at all in the room. The shower door opens out into the room creating a water mess on the floor each time it is opened. There is no where to hang the towels, just one hook on the wall for hanging clothes? The office was difficult to locate. Breakfast was offered, but I didn't see where it was located until the day I was preparing to leave. It appears that the coffee room is the breakfast area and that confuses the issue as well. So perhaps better signage for those areas would help and/or if the staff pointed out the breakfast area at check-in. Now having said all of that, I still liked the room well enough overall that I would stay there again. It suited me well. The bed was quite large and comfortable. It appeared clean as well as the room overall. The staff and housekeeping were friendly and helpful. The price was good. Neighbors were reasonably quiet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern VA

Great location very convenient

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: convenient/bed was very comfortable
Cons: tub/shower caulk was very moldy very disappointing the only reason I would not recommend this hotel
Location: very convenient
The bed is very comfortable and the room was clean. The only reason I would not recommend your hotel is that the tub/shower caulk was very moldy. Everything else was nice. Thanks, Paula Long
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

3-star hotel for one night for a family of 4

Posted Jan 9, 2016
Both rooms were icy cold when checking in, the heating was not able to warm them up. Very poor and old bathroom, water was not hot. Separate heaters caused fuse damage. We will never come back again, sleeping in a car would be better!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from marion,va 24354

Nice Hotel near University of Virginia

Posted Jan 8, 2016
I had an excellent experience. Room was clean, cleaning ladies was great and helpful. The management was great. The complimentary breakfast was excellent! The breakfast could last til 10:00.I loved the room we was in#38. When I go back in February or next time I would love to have that room back only that room. It wasn't all cluttered up. Great job! Get and indoor pool. I really like it cause you can go to different places without driving long.I like how close it was to the University Hospital the most.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small, but clean motel in the heart of Cville

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Clean rooms, upgraded amenities (not upscale, but modernized), breakfast included, safe, quiet location near all the major UVA facilities
Cons: At the prices they are charging, nothing in particular. The motel is older, but they have done a fantastic job of making it look like a newer facility
Location: Charlottesville (downtown and on the Corner) is packed full of restaurants, bars, shopping. Many more options located down 29 as well. UVA next door..
The proprietors have done a fantastic job of modernizing this small, older motel and turning it into a perfectly acceptable place to stay while visiting downtown Charlottesville. It is within easy walking distance of the Corner and university Grounds and has all the basic amenities anyone could ask for, given the limited options there are THIS CLOSE to the University of Virginia. The rooms were clean, there is apparently a well-stocked breakfast (which I didn't get around to trying), and the motel grounds were clean, well-lit, and safe. Check in and check out was a breeze and the rates won't break the bank. Definitely recommend if you are visiting Charlottesville for UVA functions or a visit to the downtown/Corner area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Richmond, Va

Very adequate accommodations

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: The location and free breakfast.
Cons: Cleaner carpet and maybe an extra blanket. I had to fold the blanket in half to get double coverage.
Location: Very close to UVA and downtown. Lots to do in Charlottesville.
Wonderful location. Office staff very friendly. Breakfast very good and filling. The bathroom was a bit cramped and the carpet could be cleaner but the bed was comfortable and I was very satisfied.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Manassas Park, Va

Convenient and cheap.

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: Location and price.
Location: Very convenient to UVA.
Close to UVA, wi-fi, clean and inexpensive. Good for just passing through.