Ratings based on 295 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Close to campus, boutique feel, great bar on roof!

Posted Aug 21, 2017
We have stayed at this hotel many times while visiting UVA. It is charming! It has a great cafe on the lobby floor and a wonderful restaurant/bar on the roof. You walk across the street to Campus and all The Corner restaurants, bars and shops are right there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great, all around

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Super clean
Cons: Need tea bags :-)
Location: OK.
First time I ever wanted to know the brand name of the mattress I slept on. .. I got it with no problem from the desk attendant. Will be buying one for my home! Lobby large and pleasant to walk into... Attendants at the ready to help with the loading and unloading the luggage. Breakfast room with super menu; roomy elevators! The room was perfectly clean, the bath was spacious and super clean; Fridge, safe, fast freeze, coffee pot - Quiet hallways, cleaning crew did not call out to each other from one end of the hallway to the other, yhe way they often do in other hotels... Could not ask for more of a hotel; Price a bit pricey but OK. Maybe tea bags along with the instant coffee would be good :-) I give The Graduate an A+.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Find

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The staff was wonderful and the location was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location to UVA

Posted Aug 2, 2017
We loved this hotel. The roof top bar/restaurant was a wonderful place to end the evenings. everything was clean and the staff were very helpful. My only complaint was that the coffee, cups and fresh washcloths were not replenished the next morning. Overall, I would definitely recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by Modi Ahmed, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review. Heirloom is indeed a great place to unwind with a cocktail and views of Charlottesville. For your next stay, know that you can always give us a ring at the front desk and we’re happy to send up anything you might need. Thank you in advance for your recommendation and we look forward to our next chance to accommodate you. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel but Staff was Unhelpful and Unfriendly

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Decor is nice and beds were extremely comfortable.
Cons: Service
Location: Nice location on edge of UVA campus.
We arrived at 2pm for our 3pm check in time & were told room was not ready, which was no big deal. Went back at 3:15 and room was still not ready, and told by the front desk they couldn't get in touch with cleaning staff to see if rooms were clean. We were told to wait for 10 minutes, which ended up being a half an hour, before we got any update. The man in front of us checked into a hotel room that was already occupied. At almost 4 o'clock they put us in our room, leaving us only 1 hour to get ready for a 5pm wedding we were in town for. They didn't provide any compensation for their error and our inconvenience. (not even free parking)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by Modi Ahmed, Hotel Management
Dear Cate, Thank you for your feedback. While we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location and comfortable accommodations, we have noted your concerns. It can certainly be frustrating to wait for your room and we sincerely apologize for the delay. Know that we are looking in to ways that we can be more efficient during busy time periods. We are always improving, and we are confident we can do a better job of serving you in the future. We hope the wedding was a lovely occasion and that you might return so we can prove our commitment to your satisfaction in the future. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convienent

Posted Jul 16, 2017
9th floor Resturant is pretty nice. Coffee is horrible at the lobby cafe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Modi Ahmed, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for joining us at Heirloom! While it’s great to know you enjoyed your experience there, we’re sorry if the coffee at Sheepdog fell short. The Intelligentsia blends we stock are usually quite popular, but nevertheless, we will make note of your feedback. Thanks again for your thoughts and we hope you’ll come back soon. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KCMO

A Motel with some Hotel touches.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Location is fantastic. Beds are very comfortable and bathroom products are top-notch.
Cons: This is a fancy motel. Halls are a bit noisy, rooms are pretty basic. If you don't expect much you will be ok.
Location: Easy walk to bars, restaurants, campus. Great location for parents, tourists, those visiting med center.
The Graduate is an attractive place! The lobby and common spaces are designed to with a retro-college preppy theme and the details are fun. We visited in the summer so not many students around but there were people studying in the lobby, tables near coffee bar and upstairs common room every day. I imagine this means more students hang out during the regular semester, adding to the college design. 24 hr valet parking for $10 a day makes touring the area easier - includes in/out. Cafe with espresso drinks and breakfast biscuits and pastries was just OK - pastries were not fresh. Servers were very nice. Rooftop restaurant has a full bar with a few specialty cocktails. Outdoor eating is comfortable, food offerings are fine but there are better places to eat in C'ville, we had appetizers and drinks. Hint: don't order the beet/pear salad. The salad includes 3 slender slices of each and a large pile of greens. Not what we expected. Rooms are motel rooms. No drawers for your clothes so we lived out of suitcases for a few days. Even side tables don't have drawers though they are designed to resemble drawers. Advertised docking stations are really just plugs on the base of lamps not USBs. We paid extra for 'mtn view' and our view was of two parking structures and an apartment. No room service or valet. Bath is nice but shower has no place for cloth or razor. No hook for hand towel near sink. Rust on bottom of sink. Great bath products though! Overall just OK.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Modi Ahmed, Hotel Management
Dear Gina, Thank you for choosing Graduate Charlottesville for your visit. Between our unique design and friendly service, it sounds like we were able to provide you with a relaxing overall experience. We appreciate your feedback regarding the offerings at our dining outlets, as well as the room amenities that did not meet expectations. We will make a note of your concerns as we plan for future improvements. If your travels bring you back to the area, we hope we’ll have another chance to serve you. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice hotel near campus.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Enjoyed it except that handicapped room was not at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Modi Ahmed, Hotel Management
Dear Jennifer, Thank you for your review. We can assure you that our accessible rooms are ADA-compliant. However, if there is an issue you noticed, we would be keen on hearing it, as we are committed to serving the needs of all of our guests. Thank you, and we hope to hear from you. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scranton

Closest to UVA

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Clean, comfortable hotel with the fastest valet service I have ever seen. Don't overlook the rooftop bar and restaurant. A hidden gem in this charming city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Modi Ahmed, Hotel Management
Dear Marie, Thank you for your review. Between the views and cocktails at Heirloom and the convenience of our valet service, we hope our guests feel as though every base is covered during their stay. We appreciate your kind words and hope you can come back soon. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

really nice hotel. super clean room.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: on the corner. affordable. clean room. nice to control a/c with wall unit.
Cons: gym is a little basic.
Location: on the university corner. what to do? everything and anything uva.
really nice hotel. super clean room. on the university corner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Modi Ahmed, Hotel Management
Dear madge, Thank you for your review. It's wonderful to hear that our location, amenities, and cleanliness were all to your liking. We hope you can visit us again soon.