Ratings based on 317 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Overly expensive. Some negatives: no bathroom counter so need to dump toilet stuff on ground. No bathroom glasses. Dirty window
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, Thank you for your review. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests’ experiences, and appreciate your honest feedback. It was a pleasure to host you and we hope you will choose to stay with us again. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gainesville GA

Nice hotel close to shops and university

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Clean, comfy, a home away from home. Staff was friendly and very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Rob, Thank you for your 5-star review. It was a pleasure to provide you with a comfortable place to stay in Charlottesville. We love making our guests feel right at home. On behalf of the entire staff, we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re in the area. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

I always stay at the Graduate in Charlottesville

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Love the rooftop bar/restuarant - kind staff - LOCATION!
Cons: Access to the 2nd floor terrace and the terrace itself - both need facelifts, but can't beat the fun of being outside and watching the folk of C'Ville
Location: Apart from walking over UVA campus, you can tour Monticello, brunch at Keswick Hotel and Club, shop on downtown mall, justroll your bag to the amtrak!
I always stay here when I visit my son at UVA. It is pleasant, slightly bohemian, well-run, informal, and the location cannot be bettered for access to the campus, the frats or Rugby road, and the train station. The staff is helpful, charming and smart. The rooms are just fine for my needs - but I'd love real drawers for my clothes rather than shelving. I'd also love louvered blinds instead of draw across drapes. Your only choice is darkness or full daylight now. For those staying more than a day or two, a better gym would be great. I plan to stay for graduation week and made that reservation a year back. My son had to take a medical leave - and the lovely manager at the Graduate was kind enough to move my reservation forward a whole year without any additional charge. This is a place I always feel at home, well cared for, and known.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Carlosina, Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. We understand that plans can change, and are happy to assist guests in making alternative arrangements when necessary. We love hearing that our warm, friendly, whip smart staff consistently provides you with exceptional hospitality during your visits. Likewise, it’s exciting that our close proximity to the UVA campus grants us the opportunity to provide you with a taste of college life when you are in town visiting your son. Charlottesville is a special place, and we are glad that you were able to explore the nearby shops and restaurants from the streets, and also overlook its beauty from above at the Heirloom Rooftop + Bar. Lastly, we appreciate your honest feedback and will carefully consider each of your suggestions on how to improve our hotel. Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool places to stay

Posted Sep 7, 2017
We loved staying at this eclectic hotel. Close to everything - great cafe in lobby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your 5-star review. We are glad you took time to visit the Sheepdog Café during your stay. In our opinion, there’s no better way to start off your day than by enjoying Little Donuts and a cup of coffee at a two-top in our lobby. Moreover, we are glad our central location and unique atmosphere enhanced your visit to Charlottesville. It was a pleasure to accommodate you and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted Sep 5, 2017
As a UVA alumni, Charlottesville holds a special place in my heart. The Graduate was exactly what we wanted in terms of convenience and comfort level. The only lacking component I found was that a typical hotel breakfast was not available on the rooftop. Amenities and cleanliness were just right.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kate, Welcome back to Charlottesville! It’s always a pleasure to host UVA alumni when they return to town. We are happy to hear that your stay was comfortable, convenient, and clean. As for breakfast, we are sorry we did not match what you had in mind. However, we do offer donut bites and signature biscuits daily at our Sheepdog Café, as well as a breakfast buffet on weekends. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to accommodating you the next time you visit your alma mater. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elk Grove Ca.

Convenient

Posted Aug 29, 2017
They are there to serve.i would recommend and go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Modi Ahmed, Hotel Management
Dear Anthony, Thank you for this kind review. Your recommendation is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Charlottesville. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Friendly hotel with terrible housekeeping

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Ambiance friendly and cheerful which is why I recommend it. BUT, the cleaners did only half a job, made 1 not 2 beds, left the sink not cleaned, the coffee cup area not cleaned, and the toilet seat broke off completely. If you are prepared for minimal cleaning you will do fine. There is reliable valet parking, no self-parking or street parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Modi Ahmed, Hotel Management
Dear Anna, Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. It is unusual to hear of our housekeeping staff being anything but thorough, and we apologize for these circumstances. Next time, please do let us know if something like this happens so we can be of immediate assistance. In either case, we will review your feedback internally to ensure our standards are being met. If you find yourself in Charlottesville, we hope to have the chance to improve on this experience for you. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Great atmosphere. Well situated between the University and the Downtown area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Modi Ahmed, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It’s great to know our location near UVA and the excitement of downtown was to your liking. We would love for you to come back anytime. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Close to campus, boutique feel, great bar on roof!

Posted Aug 21, 2017
We have stayed at this hotel many times while visiting UVA. It is charming! It has a great cafe on the lobby floor and a wonderful restaurant/bar on the roof. You walk across the street to Campus and all The Corner restaurants, bars and shops are right there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Modi Ahmed, Hotel Management
Dear Katie, Thank you for continuing to choose Graduate Charlottesville for your travels to the area. Thanks to our central location and incredible views from our rooftop bar, our guests should have everything they need for an unforgettable time. We appreciate the compliments you’ve shared here and we look forward to serving you in the months to come. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great, all around

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Super clean
Cons: Need tea bags :-)
Location: OK.
First time I ever wanted to know the brand name of the mattress I slept on. .. I got it with no problem from the desk attendant. Will be buying one for my home! Lobby large and pleasant to walk into... Attendants at the ready to help with the loading and unloading the luggage. Breakfast room with super menu; roomy elevators! The room was perfectly clean, the bath was spacious and super clean; Fridge, safe, fast freeze, coffee pot - Quiet hallways, cleaning crew did not call out to each other from one end of the hallway to the other, yhe way they often do in other hotels... Could not ask for more of a hotel; Price a bit pricey but OK. Maybe tea bags along with the instant coffee would be good :-) I give The Graduate an A+.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Modi Ahmed, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. From your accommodations, to the service, to our décor and amenities, it sounds like you had everything you needed to enjoy your stay, and we’re thrilled to hear it. We will make note of your suggestion for tea bags and see what we can do. The pleasure was all ours in serving you and we would love another chance to do so in the future. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager