Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to UVA

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Great location, great staff were super friendly and even the valet guys were welcoming. Rooftop restaurant was super cool and the moon was so big and orange over the city top - we loved it. Breakfast muffins and coffee were a wonderful start to day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2016 by Yolunda, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review. When a full moon is out at the height of summer, there’s no better place to be than Heirloom. It’s great to know that our staff was made such a great impression on you, as well. We’ll pass along the kudos! We’d love to welcome you back the next time you’re in Charlottesville. Sincerely, Yolunda Harrell General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best Location in Downtown Charlottesville!

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Great staff and location, unique atmosphere.
Cons: A little pricey during busy seasons, but may be worth it depending on your needs/convenience!
Location: Right on the Corner, the block(s) of downtown Charlottesville with great restaurants and bars. Close to the hospital and med school.
Stayed here twice, and am planning on booking a room for the 3rd time! This is the best location in Downtown Cville, located right on the Corner! Short walk to good food and the UVA hospital/medical school! If you want to go to the mall, just hop on the free trolley (staff will be happy to assist you with directions). If you don't feel like walking to get food, you can go to the great new rooftop bar and restaurant (eat outside if you can--great views of the town and the surrounding mountains!). The look of the rooms is also unique and college-themed, and staff is very friendly and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2016 by Yolunda, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Location is key, and we are so pleased that ours has worked out so well for you. Paired with a visit to our rooftop restaurant and bar, Heirloom, it has been a pleasure serving you on your visits to Charlottesville. We look forward to accommodating you a third time, and if there’s anything we can do to make your next stay even better, please don’t hesitate to let us know. Sincerely, Yolunda Harrell General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

MET ALL OUR NEEDS

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Great location. Easy walking distance to campus and The Corner. Great view from restaurant. Nice coffee shop in lobby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2016 by Yolunda, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate the time you have taken to share your review. Our central location can’t be beat, and we’re glad you could take advantage of our proximity to campus. When your travels bring you back to Charlottesville, we hope to have the pleasure of accommodating you again. Sincerely, Yolunda Harrell General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roanoke

Perfect location and clean and nice hotel!

Posted Jul 20, 2016
We were there for our daughter's orientation at UVA and the location was perfect. Walking distance to Grounds and restaurants. Rooftop restaurant was very nice and appetizers were excellent. Staff was excellent! Small cafe in lobby was great for a quick breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2016 by Yolunda, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We’re so pleased you chose Graduate Charlottesville for your trip to UVA. It’s great to know your daughter is a future Cavalier! Whenever you come to visit, we hope you’ll keep our hotel in mind. You’ll love seeing the views change with the seasons and from Heirloom. We wish you safe travels and hope to have you back with us soon. Sincerely, Yolunda Harrell General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Close to all the action. Fantastic staff.

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: Just about everything
Location: Excellent location
The hotel was in the heart of all the hustle and bustle of Charlottesville. Walked to dinner, and had long talks with hotel staff about local attractions and the vibe of the city. People were more than pleasant all around. A wonderful experience. Wish I had more time to spend there. Room was very eclectic, but that's what made it cute. And it was very very clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Great hotel when traveling without a car!

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: Location! Cute rooms, free coffee maker and fridge. Excellent front-desk staff.
Cons: I think that everything I would want is coming soon......more in-house eating and drinking options.
Location: Restaurants galore! Great downtown pedestrian mall. Monticello, of course. And if you have a car.....lots of terrific vineyards.
My cousin and I took the train from Baltimore for a "get to know Charlottesville" trip. I searched and found this great little hotel that was well situated for easy exploring without a car. The free trolley is very close by and day bus passes are just $1.50 a day/ senior citizens just 75 cents a day. We used Uber to get to Monticello. We loved the college-theme decoration. The hotel was a couple of weeks away from getting ready for graduation crowds so we didn't get to enjoy the roof-top restaurant as it wasn't opened yet. There is a café on the ground floor for breakfast. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. Other reviewers have complained about the slow elevator. It really was not that inconvenient for us. When we arrived I did ask for an up-grade as an Expedia Gold member. The clerk did not know what I was talking about and said he could sell me an up-grade which I did pay for to get a suite.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Perfect location. Across the street from UVA.

Posted May 6, 2016
Welcome change from big chain hotels. Great staff and valet parking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs renovation

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Hotel is run down. Only one elevator working. Not enough parking for guests. Location only good thing about this place.
5 out of 5
by Tracy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Potential but Not this Time

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: Location, large nice rooms
Cons: Staff training to handle emergencies such as power failures, availability of vending machines for water or beverages, housekeeping training
Location: Near to medical center and within walking distance of University and downtown mall. Many restaurants nearby both simple (pizza) and higher end.
Hotel is in great location within walking distance of medical center and downtown mall. Renovations in process, so expect a bit of noise and minor inconvenience. Rooms are large and lovely, although house keeping was a bit lax failing to empty coffee maker and there was hair left in bathroom. BIG ISSUE during stay was loss of air conditioning due to city generator failure. Unfortunate power failure out of their control, but then hotel itself failed the next day and staff was a mess trying to figure out if they had rooms with working air. One staff member told me he'd left a note for the next day maintenance saying that air in building was failing and they'd not addressed it. So come evening they were still working on air and rooms were over 75 degrees. No one had any idea what rooms had air so front desk had staff running all over while I waited for a new room after packing my things. I was not offered any compensation for this mess. And when I asked for a bottle of water I was told (at 9PM) that I had to walk 2 doors down to buy it. I finally got a bottle by showing my displeasure. Hopefully they are able to get it together as it has potential to be a great hotel.