Ratings based on 270 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Great place to stay

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Easy check in, valet parking was great, staff was very friendly & helpful, rooms were clean & nicely appointed, hotel was very quiet & relaxing, rooftop restaurant & bar is a best kept secret with breathtaking views of the mountains, within walking distance to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Modi Ahmed, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing these kind words. We, too, think Heirloom is a hidden gem, and we're so happy to hear you had a nice evening on our rooftop. The next time you're in search of a stay with friendly service and comfortable accommodations, we hope you'll think of us. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virgina

Nice hotel

Posted May 17, 2017
I was very impressed with this place. The staff went over and above trying to make everything perfect. The room had lots of little extras that came in handy. For example a wine corkscrew. I had the king size bed which was more than comfortable. It was very quiet. Did not hear anything.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Modi, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, We appreciate the time you have taken to share your thoughts. It sounds as though you had a memorable experience and we’re glad to hear it. Sometimes, it’s the small details that can make or break a stay, so it’s good to know you appreciated gestures like in-room corkscrews. The next time you’re in search of a relaxing getaway, we hope you’ll think of us. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MD

Posted May 13, 2017
Quirky, fun hotel - everything clean, staff smiling, polite and helpful. We only stayed one night, but wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone. Only problem was no handicapped aids in the room, but that could've been my fault for not asking for a handicapped equipped room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Modi, Hotel Management
Dear Lisa, Thank you for sharing these kind words. It’s wonderful to hear that everything was to your liking. We do offer handicap accessible rooms, and in the future would be more than happy to rearrange your accommodations to meet your needs. Your recommendation is much appreciated and we look forward to the chance to accommodate you again. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from richmond, va

Perfect location Perfecf Ambience

Posted May 7, 2017
I usually stay in the SPG or Hilton chain. I was pleasantly surprised and delighted with this hotel. Right from the vallet parking staff to the people and of course the rooms. Amazing design. Loved the stay and will surely stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Modi, Hotel Management
Dear sunny, We are delighted to hear that you gave our hotel a try and you were not disappointed. We aim to provide the opposite of a cookie-cutter hotel experience, from our quirky décor to our personalized service. It was a pleasure to accommodate you, and we hope your next stay comes soon. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great hotel!

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Location: Lots of restaurants nearby. Also an easy walk to the University
The room was large, beds very comfortable, very quiet. Good location to lots of restaurants and the U of Virginia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Modi, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate the time you have taken to share your review. It’s wonderful to read that our location and accommodations were to your liking. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again someday. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location, fun atmosphere...but

Posted Apr 24, 2017
First let me offer the positives... the location is perfect for a UVA tour as well as restaurants/bars, and generally strolling around town to enjoy Charlottesville. It is an easy walk to UVA admissions building. There are several nicer to casual restaurants within walking distance. I give high marks to the fun vibe of the décor of the hotel. This is not your ho-hum and that is nice if you, like me, spend too much time in hotels. The roof top bar is lovely. Our bartender was attentive and knowledgeable... a winning combination. The café barista could not have been nicer. However (and it is a big however) the air conditioning in our room did not function properly. It was 85degrees out! The front desk sent three separate maintenance staff members to address the problem. Each time we were told that the thermostat was set incorrectly. On the last night the temperature in the room did not drop below 78degrees which is not comfortable for sleeping. This was after not allowing my teenage daughters to use the hairdryer and keeping the curtains completely closed for 2 days. Further when I asked about changing rooms, I was told that because we booked through Expedia that wasn't possible. What????!!! What difference does it make where or how I booked? I'm a client and my review will be about the hotel NOT EXPEDIA. What ever hotel policy might be contributing to this, I suggest management review it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Modi Ahmed, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate you sharing this detailed review. Showing touches of UVA pride in our décor was all part of the design, and we’re pleased to see this did not go unnoticed. In terms of the issue you encountered in your room, we apologize for any frustration this may have caused. Your comfort is a priority to us, and we will be reviewing ways in which we can provide better solutions to issues like this in the future. Thank you again for your feedback, and if you plan on returning to Charlottesville, we are confident we can provide you with a better stay. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything😀

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: The old school ness about it
Location: Good music and great food nice trees
It was a first time to Charlottesville and it was fun
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Modi, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate your review. We’re so pleased we showed you a good time in Charlottesville for your first visit. The next time you are in search of a stylish hotel with plenty to do in an excellent location, we hope you will think of us. Thank you! Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool, convenient close to UVA

Posted Apr 13, 2017
The hotel was very comfortable and had really cool room keys. There was good breakfast in the lobby of the hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Modi, Hotel Management
Dear love the south, Thank you for your review! We’re glad you enjoyed breakfast at Sheepdog and the fun details in our décor. We hope you’ll be back soon for another stay. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Great place to stay while at UVA.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Have stayed here several times and it gets better each time with the additions of the rooftop bar and the newly expanded lobby cafe. Close to everything happening at The Corner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Modi, Hotel Management
Dear Barbara, Thank you for joining us on several occasions. Now that the expanded Sheepdog Café opened in addition to our rooftop restaurant, Heirloom, there is no shortage of ways to enjoy a few bites to eat with the locals. We have enjoyed accommodating you and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good boutique hotel next to UVA

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Very well located next to UVA. Very friendly and competent staff. Rooms are clean and relatively quiet. Good and funky decor. Valet parking works fine. Overall a good hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Modi, Hotel Management
Dear L Slaughter, Thank you for giving Graduate Charlottesville a try. It’s wonderful to hear that our location worked out so well for you and you appreciated the convenience our valet service offers. If you happen to stay with us again, we hope you’ll dine with us at Heirloom or try your hand at foosball in the Game Room. We would love to provide you with the full experience! Thanks again for your kind words, and we look forward to accommodating you again someday. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager