Ratings based on 853 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

quick trip

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Pros: clean and modern
Cons: equipment in the fitness center was a little sparse.
Location: no time to explore but did go to Monticello for a short tour. It is an excellent stop and a UN heritage site but the first floor tour is short.
Stayed here for one night on the way to SC. The room was clean and modern and quiet. I had dinner as well and the dish I had was a pesto covered penne with veggies and it was just right. Breakfast was also good with excellent service and décor. I would recommend this place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No indoor pool

Posted Dec 29, 2017
We chose this hotel because it had a pool. My grandson couldn’t wait to get there. We left Monticello early so he could go swimming. They had a pool, but not an indoor pool. My fault. I should not have assumed the pool was indoors.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by cheryl hill, Hotel Management
Dear Iowachick, I thank you so much for the review, and I am terribly sorry about the pool being closed. Hopefully you will come back in the summer so that your grandson can have an opportunity to swim. Cheryl H. FOM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Very pleased with my stay at this hotel. I am particular about where i stay when traveling and this hotel met all my expectations. The free breakfast was delicious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by chery hill, Hotel Management
We are pleased that we met your expectation. Thank you for sharing the comments and we hope you can come back and visit again. Cheryl H FOM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pet friendly nice place nice staff clean room easy check in & check out
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by chery hill, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying at our hotel. Cheryl H
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No hot water anywhere

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Stayed 2 nights, no hot water, no showers, told 3 times boiler being checked. Refunded only $50. With competitive hotels, won't go back here. Expedia, some I paid through you, wanna refund me???
3 out of 5
by matthew n

Disappointed

Posted Oct 19, 2017 on Hotels
Heater/air very noisy. Kept us up all night
3 out of 5
by Keith

Not Greatest Room Ever

Posted Sep 23, 2017 on Hotels
This was not the best Holiday Inn we have ever stayed at, but certainly not the worst. The area had plenty of shopping and restaurants nearby, but it didn't feel very safe for some reason.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beer trip

Posted Sep 22, 2017 on Hotels
Clean and has a bar. Great food in the lobby too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Savannah, Ga

Lovely lobby, bar and restaurant. Wonderful staff

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Best pet friendly hotel yet! First floor and lobby had no fragrance! Clean, renovated, wonderful front desk reception, house keeping friendly , helpful and happy. I ordered food at the bar as I arrived late... bartender could not have been sweeter. I am sensitive to fragrance and my dog is fearful of elevators. I requested fragrance free room on first floor and they made that happen. Went to second floor for ice and that did have heavy fragrance (FYI). Beds were average in comfort but everything else was great. They did test the fire alarms several times at 10AMish which was very frightening to my dog as well as uncomfortable for my ears. I highly recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worse than the usual Holiday Inn

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
Terrible front desk service. The first thing I said after "I'd like to check in" was that we had a dog with us in case that affected which room we would be assigned. About 15 minutes after we got in the room, a very nice bellhop was sent to the room to tell us we had to move to a different room. When I called the front desk to ask why we were being moved, the supervisor (an unpleasant person) said it was because we had a dog and dogs were only allowed on some floors. Fair enough, but why didn't all front desk staff know that? I did ask if we would get an equivalent room and was told "yes." We did NOT get an equivalent room. We got a handicap accessible room that smelled like an old- fashioned nursing home. Yuck. Also, don't order white wine from the bar-like place. It is undrinkable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017
Thank you for your review. While we try to honor all guest room requests and pet requests, at times, we cannot honor both together. I apologize that we did not determine this prior to sending you to a room. We will also check into the other issues you encountered during your stay. We understand your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we sincerely hope to get another chance to give you a better experience on your next visit. Sincerely Cheryl Hill Front Office Manager