Ratings based on 563 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2018
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2018
The air conditioner didnt work so they gave us another room and it was cooler but the a/c still work properly. There was a black hair on the sink and the tub mat was dirty.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Convenient to John Paul Jones Arena

Posted Apr 27, 2018
Pros: Bed and pillows were very comfy. Convenience to John Paul Jones Arena
Cons: Check in process
Location: John Paul Jones Arena
Called the day before to check on reservation and hotel could not locate my reservation. Booked through Expedia and had to call Expedia to confirm. I called the hotel back and provide them the confirmation number provided by Expedia. When I checked in the hotel at 3 pm the next day, the check in staff still had issues locating my reservation. Construction was being performed on the second floor where my rooms where located and they were tying up the elevator which made it hard to get to my room. When we inquired about a luggage cart we were told they were all being used and when we got off the elevator there were three of them in the hallway filled with luggage racks (assume from rooms being renovated).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kk

construction

Posted Apr 24, 2018
Pros: ---
Cons: --
Location: good Indian Rest. next door
construction in progress 0900- 1900 sheet rock, pounding, not acceptable........bed mattress was lumpy, tilted, ready to be dumped. (2 queens, reserved King) didnt request change, too tired.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2018
My hotel.room was on a.floor that was under construction and in close.proximity to the cleaning staffs utliity room. So this room was not the best location to be in the hotel. I was actualky disappointed in the location of the room that i was placed in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Close to conveniences

Posted Mar 4, 2018
Staff was aware of need for out of town family to gather in dining and lounge area and was very accommodating
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2018 on Hotels
Stay was fine, only issue was no one came to take care of the room...we were there late, getting ready for a wedding, but let them know....they said no problem, but never came...even though they were still working on the floor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible suit front desk black girl was racist

Posted Feb 20, 2018
I'm not feel welcome the front desk black ladies was racist and rude to us the room was in the basement not comfort at all Not elevator to go 2 floors down I never ever I go to use this hotel and Expedia web page
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville, Va

#Staycation

Posted Feb 18, 2018
I surprised my hubby and told him to pack an overnight bag. I took him to dinner and after walking around an outdoor mall for awhile, I drove us to The Holiday Inn Hotel. I've been to Holiday Inns before but this one was definitely the best!! I got a great deal on Expedia for a much needed getaway. (we have 3 kids and are renovating our house). #alonetine #holidayinn #staycation2018 #craxylifebreak
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2018 by Rms Div Mgr, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of the Holiday Inn Charlottesville -Univ Area. We appreciated the great remarks and will share your comments with our staff. We hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not satisfied

Posted Feb 1, 2018 on Hotels
It was horrible, bed had crumbs on it from previous guest. Food was terrible and cold! I would like my refund back!