Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Perfectly Good Hotel, Great If Really Cheap

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Price and value for what you pay and receive
Location: It is very close to the new shopping areas on 29. Milan Indian restaurant next door is excellent.
There is nothing amazing about this hotel, but then again you they aren't trying to be and they aren't charging outrageous prices either. If you are a person that realizes that you get what you pay for and are reasonable, then this hotel gives you a good deal generally because it is not in an amazing location....yet its pretty convenient to UVA and Downtown Charlottesville. It does not give you plush and luxurious rooms, but it feels clean and safer than dive motels. There is plenty of free parking. There is a restaurant and bar but they are nothing more than serviceable. I would not spend time there for any reason beyond convenience. It does appear they are remodeling rooms so it might be even better down the road.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice Location in Charlottesville

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Staff very friendly, courteous and friendly. Few problems with the room: Outlet in bathroom loose and connection frequently lost, Shower water not very hot and we couldn't shut our balcony door all the way. This was not a problem as we didn't mind the cool nights and we were on an upper floor. Buffet was really good! Overall we enjoyed our stay for the price paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, conveniently located.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
The only complaints with our two rooms were a cracked sink in the bathroom and a balcony door that holing crooked and loosely.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carolinas

Staff overzealous to get us out!

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Best part is the location. Right downtown. Near Whole Foods and Trader Joe's as well as other shopping.
Cons: Staff has been consistently less than helpful (Except for the shuttle drivers) each time I stay there. This time, the interruptions were ridiculous.
Between "Engineering" Department and cleaning crew, we had 3 sets of people knocking on our door to hurry us up the last hour before checkout. If they really want us out at 11, they should post it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conference stay close to UVA

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Hotel was convenient to UVA where I was attending a conference. Trader Joes is across the street along with other shopping.
Cons: Ice machine on main floor.
Location: UVA
Room was fine - had a lady bug and a moth visit me but it had been rainy that day. Did not use any of the facilities as it was a very short stay. TV remote did not work nor did the alarm clock but managed without them.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Smithfield VA

Worse experience EVER

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything from customer service to the rooms (disgusting) and misleading about it being listed as 3 stars!
Location: Good location but on one of the busiest streets which makes the room very noisy. I feel like I was robbed for this weekend stay.
From the minute I tried to check in (the two staff members were battling over whose cord worked in whose smartphones) I was ignored and never addressed professionally. After waiting, I was told to only park in a certain area and that for breakfast there is a charge, although the pool is on your floor it is closed at 10pm SHARP. The walk to our room creeped us out as half the lights were blown, the rug was stained and faded and the doorways and trim where yellowed and dirty. (Stunk of cigarette smoke) One doorway was propped open and we noticed the rug was half pulled up and under construction. (This was at 8pm at night!) No air was on in our room and it smelled really bad, combination of odors and cigarette smoke. The beds were hard as plywood and the pillows thin and flimsy. Both evenings my husband I tossed and turned and barely slept. The bathroom was small and shabby also, the tile in the bath/shower was full of mildew and mold. Way too much not be noticed!! As we were checking out we planned to tell them all our concerns. After waiting for 20 minutes we were ignored and told just to go, that an email would be emailed.(Has not BTW) We were never given a chance to express our concerns. I truly feel giving this stay even one star is too much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Front desk manager Ila Crawford solved a reservation misunderstanding, overcame unexpected obstacles, and exceeded expectations with a creative solution which saved the vacation! (Even extended an additional night)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Evanston, IL

Adequate hotel in good location

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Location, cost, breakfast
Cons: Common areas
Location: UVA, Downtown Mall, movie theater, mall
This Holiday Inn has been around for a long time, and that is very apparent with the pool and exercise facilities as well as the hallways throughout the building. There have been some nice upgrades throughout but still obvious that it is an aging hotel. It's in a great location in Charlottesville (although not walkable to UVA or downtown attractions) and a good deal for the area. The pool area is old and makes guests feel as if they've stepped back in time, and the exercise room is lacking. Breakfast buffet is a nice amenity and worth the added room cost.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville VA

great location but otherwise average

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Chintzy w/ soap bars & plastic glasses. Did leave extra coffee on request but didn't clean balcony refuse left by prior guests. Room itself was nice. Bathroom needs refurbishing. A/C was noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick trip to UVA

Posted Jul 31, 2016
I was looking for something close-ish to the University and reasonably priced. This fit the bill