Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Smithfield VA

Worse experience EVER

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything from customer service to the rooms (disgusting) and misleading about it being listed as 3 stars!
Location: Good location but on one of the busiest streets which makes the room very noisy. I feel like I was robbed for this weekend stay.
From the minute I tried to check in (the two staff members were battling over whose cord worked in whose smartphones) I was ignored and never addressed professionally. After waiting, I was told to only park in a certain area and that for breakfast there is a charge, although the pool is on your floor it is closed at 10pm SHARP. The walk to our room creeped us out as half the lights were blown, the rug was stained and faded and the doorways and trim where yellowed and dirty. (Stunk of cigarette smoke) One doorway was propped open and we noticed the rug was half pulled up and under construction. (This was at 8pm at night!) No air was on in our room and it smelled really bad, combination of odors and cigarette smoke. The beds were hard as plywood and the pillows thin and flimsy. Both evenings my husband I tossed and turned and barely slept. The bathroom was small and shabby also, the tile in the bath/shower was full of mildew and mold. Way too much not be noticed!! As we were checking out we planned to tell them all our concerns. After waiting for 20 minutes we were ignored and told just to go, that an email would be emailed.(Has not BTW) We were never given a chance to express our concerns. I truly feel giving this stay even one star is too much.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Front desk manager Ila Crawford solved a reservation misunderstanding, overcame unexpected obstacles, and exceeded expectations with a creative solution which saved the vacation! (Even extended an additional night)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Evanston, IL

Adequate hotel in good location

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Location, cost, breakfast
Cons: Common areas
Location: UVA, Downtown Mall, movie theater, mall
This Holiday Inn has been around for a long time, and that is very apparent with the pool and exercise facilities as well as the hallways throughout the building. There have been some nice upgrades throughout but still obvious that it is an aging hotel. It's in a great location in Charlottesville (although not walkable to UVA or downtown attractions) and a good deal for the area. The pool area is old and makes guests feel as if they've stepped back in time, and the exercise room is lacking. Breakfast buffet is a nice amenity and worth the added room cost.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville VA

great location but otherwise average

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Chintzy w/ soap bars & plastic glasses. Did leave extra coffee on request but didn't clean balcony refuse left by prior guests. Room itself was nice. Bathroom needs refurbishing. A/C was noisy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quick trip to UVA

Posted Jul 31, 2016
I was looking for something close-ish to the University and reasonably priced. This fit the bill
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

3 star hotel with easy access to the highway.

Posted Jul 2, 2016
We spent the day traveling so got in later and decided to try the restaurant. What a great surprise. We had appetizers. The portions were huge and the taste was great!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2016
We stayed here due to the close proximity to a concert but it turned out this particular holiday inn was actually rather exceptional. They were very flexible with helping us get a handicap accessible room. Everything was clean and in order inside the room. My only complaint would be that the bartender we had before we headed to the concert was really really slow. The next morning though we had a great waiter that took care of us for breakfast so that made up for it. Great experience overall!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night stay.

Posted Mar 10, 2016
Pros: Can't say enough about the bed sheets and pillows. Don't know if all the rooms were like mine but this made a hugh impression on me.
Cons: An earlier check-in time. Most of the day is gone by 3:00pm. Also, it's a little pricey.
Location: Good location. Close to a lot of shopping and grocery stores.
I was very satisfied with the cleaniness of the room and how comfortable the bed was. Only stayed one night so didn't interact with staff that much. At check-in the staff was very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near UVA

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Staff members were very friendly, helpful, and courteous. The room was large and clean. Would stay again, No Doubt!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok stay

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Shower drain is slow. Told the front desk while we went out and it was never attended to. So I mentioned it again at checkout to help out the next person.